2012: Reflection.

I took a gander at the hopes I had for 2012. Not bad, self. Admittedly, I think I had some pretty attainable visions, but I’m good with it. It’s been a year of, well, slow emotional and financial healing, big changes (new job, new apartment/city), wonderful times with old and new friends, professional growth, travel & adventure.

Bottom line: I feel very grateful for where I’m at.

So, in looking back at my little goals for 2012:

-I did buy red lipstick. I won’t claim I wear it regularly, but, hey, it’s an option.

-Yes, I kept running. I believe I ran four 5K races in 2012 (+ a 2 mile fun run on Thanksgiving).

-Read 39 books in 2012. Not quite 50. I went through some big reading phases this year…and months with zilch.

-I paid my parents back all wedding $. My savings account, especially after moving, makes me want to cry a little…but I’m very glad to not be writing monthly “wedding” checks.

-Travel: I did indeed make it to NYC/NJ and to Sweden and France. Amazing trips. I will be bragging obnoxiously about how perfect EuroTrip 2012 was for years to come. Money well spent.

-I didn’t volunteer too regularly at the animal shelter or get my own dog.
I’m okay with it. I switched to mentoring an elementary school student as my “volunteer” activity when I moved.

-Eat less ice cream? Cook more veggie-tastic meals? Eh. I wouldn’t say any big changes happened here, though it has been awhile since ice cream graced my freezer.

-Savings/retirement? I did finally set up a 403b. I’m not rocking the contributions, but I’m glad it’s in motion. Still need to figure out an IRA…

-Budgeting has been questionable. Still debt-free, still able to do anything that comes up with friends. Still figuring out where my money’s going to go each month in Chicago. Lots toward restaurants and Starbucks as of now.

-I visited Milwaukee/Chicago friends pretty much constantly throughout 2012. And now I live in the windy city. Woot woot.

-I definitely stressed less and was more spontaneous. I’m proud of this one. I have to say, I do believe the awfulness that was the end of 2011 has really strengthened me and taken away most of my anxiety issues. The little things, for the most part, do not get me down anymore. I do not overanalyze, I do not over-think. Overall, I just see how/where things go in life, and I’m liking it.

-Chicago apartment is significantly cleaner. Thank God. I do pretty regular straightening up and love this new home (& entertaining friends in it).

-Left old job; took a new one. Can’t get much more proactive than that.

-I’m not bitter, and I absolutely believe there are so many good people out there. I would still not classify my ex in any sort of kind category, but I’m certainly glad I’m not married to him. So…thanks? And throughout this experience I have seen the good in friends and family again and again. The people I am lucky to surround myself with are good people. No doubts there.

You had some nice moments, 2012. I’m looking forward to the new year. Priorities for 2013 coming soon…

20120722-105542.jpg

(Original list of  aspirations is beneath the cut)

In 2012…

I will:

-Find the perfect red lipstick, and wear it regularly.

-Keep runnin’. Sign up for at least two 5Ks.

-Read 50 books. Made it to 37 this year, and I imagine ’12 may hold a lot more time to crack open the nook.

-Pay my parents back the wedding $$ I owe (–> return to being debt-free).

-Travel. NYC in March (definitely), Europe over the summer (?)

-Volunteer at the local animal shelter…and maybe get a canine companion of my own.

-Eat less ice cream and make more home-cooked, veggie-centered meals.

-Learn way more about my savings/retirement plans (appt. already made at the bank!).

-Budget. Keep spending less on coffee/lunches out (…so I can spend more on travel, weekends with friends…and maybe clothes).

-Visit Milwaukee & Chicago regularly, to see friends and get myself out of my suburban apartment.

-Stress less. Be excited and spontaneous more.

-Clean at least a little bit everyday to avoid an overwhelming mess of an apartment. Value my little corner of the world.

-Ensure I’m happy with my job (and realize some things are beyond my control).

-Not let bitterness take over. Forgive. I’ve always prided myself in believing in the good in people, believing in love and complete trust. In partnership. & That, someday, it’ll find me again. And that I’m worthy of it.

~ by Elena Marie on December 31, 2012.

5 Responses to “2012: Reflection.”

  1. Happy New Year! I’m glad 2012 was a good year, and wish you all the best for 2013!

  2. sounds like a GREAT year! happy 2013, lady!

  3. Sounds like you had a full year! Can’t wait to hear what you have planned for 2013!

  4. All in all, sounds like you had a pretty great year. I wish you all the success and happiness you deserve in 2013!

  5. Thanks for the kind words, ladies! Happy 2013!

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 39 other followers

