In 2013…

I will…

Send more snail mail. It makes people happy, and I spent money on a lovely return address stamp. Win-win.

Read at least 40 books. C’mon, self. Let’s aim for 50, but at least add one title to the annual total!

Not be obsessed with a scale or calorie counting. If my clothes still fit, I’m exercising regularly, and I could run a 5k without any advance notice…let’s just let it be.

Do laundry and dishes regularly and keep my apartment presentable.

Travel. I’d love to do something (??) for Spring Break and attending Maria’s Swedish wedding in August is pretty much a definite in my mind. Eurotrip 2013, you’re not all that far away!

Budget better. If this means acknowledging I’m going to spend a ton on restaurant meals with friends…so be it! But then, Elena, spending less on things like clothing and lattes is gonna have to happen.

Explore Chicago. More museums, restaurants, breweries, plays, long walks.

Give compliments and praise when they’re genuine/warranted. Whether to strangers, teaching assistants, students, friends, family, etc. We all like to hear good things.

Monitor my happiness. Feeling down? Then change something. Be proactive and always in pursuit of joyful, smile-inducin’ experiences.

Continue to grow as an SLP. This especially means more assistive technology & feeding/swallowing training.

Maintain friendships, whether down the street, across a state line, or over the Atlantic. Always good to keep in mind.

Basically…I just want to enjoy you, 2013. I think I’ve built a pretty darn nice life for myself here in Chicago and now it’s time to just live it. Let’s do this.

photo-76

~ by Elena Marie on January 4, 2013.

6 Responses to “In 2013…”

  1. These are great things to focus on this year! I’m also trying to read more, but since I read a lot for work my goal was a bit more modest than yours.

  2. Happy new year Elena! Here’s to a great 2013!

  3. yay books and chicago! and trips to europe! okay, i just like all these resolutions. and yes, cupcakes round two fo sho. :)

  4. A little late to the game on this but great resolutions! All about the snail mail, budgeting, traveling, and giving praise. You can do it!

  5. A little late to the game but great resolutions for the new year. I’m right there with you on snail mail, reading, budget and travel! Small steps but big results, you can do it :)

  6. Thank you so much, ladies! A very happy new year to you :)

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 39 other followers

