Majestic Yellow.

I don’t know how I failed to mentioned this, but I HAVE A KITCHEN AID MIXER. And, yes, it most certainly is Majestic Yellow.

Remember how I was sure I wouldn’t get one because I would just spend my $$ on clothes if gift certificates weren’t specifically alloted toward it (not an altogether inaccurate fear)? But then on the day of my graduation party I opened up this beauty, courtesy of my uncle’s generosity.

Owning it makes me feel like such a grown-up. It’s one of those things that (due to the kitchen I grew up in) I feel every “home” just must have. Hopefully I’ll have this mixer for years upon years to come…I know my mom’s mixer is at least as old as I am.

This moment is reminding me of how my roommate in Italy got very emotional when her permanent retainer fell out in Italia (“This baby saw me through puberty. It saw me blossom into womanhood!”). Who knows what we’ll go through together, Mixer. Get ready to make lots of cookie dough and…witness my life?

I finally decided to break it in tonight by baking some oatmeal cookies, one of my personal favorites (and pretty much the only recipe I currently have the ingredients for).

And now that I’ve stuffed my face with cookie dough, it’s time to go for my nightly walk. And to take a break from Felicity, Season One. It’s weird watching it now that I’m a college grad, as opposed to a middle school-er. So many painful awkward moments.

And to quickly sum up my day: I played with children, baked cookies, washed dishes, and did some laundry. 22-years-old sure is a craaaaazy age for me. I’m such a bad ass. I’ll try and have a glass of wine later, just to feel young and alive. I kid, I kid (about the motivation, not the glass of wine). It really was a nice day, even if a bit stressful (first day of summer camp! Eeeeeks).

~ by Elena Marie on June 17, 2008.

8 Responses to “Majestic Yellow.”

  1. *DROOL* I soooo want at stand mixer. And that one is just…well, it’s beautiful. And how about sharing those yummy-looking cookies with your favorite second-year?? Did we forget to mention that all first-years are required to give second-years cookies? Yeah, new rule….

  2. Isn’t it?! And I’ve stared at colors for, er, years…but I just felt that the yellow was the most “kitchen-y” in the long run. No idea where that logic came from.

    Oh, I am DEFINITELY giving them to people. I only made like 20…um…because I wanted the dough mostly. But I want to get rid of/be generous with the rest.

    Will you be in the lab tomorrow? I will leave some for ya if so šŸ™‚

  3. Haha, yes, the yellow is definitely kitchen-y. I don’t know if I’ll make it into the lab tomorrow, but I’ll be at the clinic for sure. Just leave ’em somewhere with a post-it with my name on it. I’ll find it. I have a special cookie-detector in my brain. True story.

  4. Post-it it is šŸ™‚

    And what a valuable and dangerous skill…

    Cookies are awesome. Another true story.

  5. Those cookies look good.
    I want a mixer.
    Mmmm, cookies.

  6. They were pretty yummy.
    We should make cheesecake again soon (even if a mixer isn’t as necessary for it…).

  7. […] photos of our apartment, but for now—here are some more of the painting process. Red kitchen, Majestic Yellow KitchenAid mixer. MATCH MADE IN […]

  8. […] realized I haven’t made any cookies from scratch since Christmas. I’m sorry, KitchenAid. So […]

Leave a Reply

 
