Weekend Win.

It really was just another win of a weekend.9527_148261116002_722066002_3253055_7018294_n

The perfect combination of running, drinking, friends, boyfriend, puppy, pizza, cooking, and sleeping.

It was fun to have visitors, even if one of them had a massive plastic cone around her head. Poor Arwen. Navigating my tiny apartment was tricky for her (well, as were basic tasks like…eating). The cone also equals far less biting, so I think we’re all slightly grateful for it, too.  Saturday post-5K was spent napping with Adam, buying booze with his sister Janelle, and then celebrating Janelle’s 21st birthday at her apartment (which is below mine), Clybourne, and Murphy’s (which has just been expanded…INSANITY).

Slept in majorly on Sunday and then went out for a goodbye lunch with Adam and his DSC04733sisters. After he headed back to Tenneessee I rushed to another highlight of the weekend: cooking club at the ARC!  One of my classmates, Natalie, had gone previously and recommended it, so Ashley and I thought we’d check it out. SO worth the $10 fee! This was a slightly different set-up than typical meetings (so I’ll have to check out one of those in the future), and involved a local chef coming in to teach us “Cooking 101”. He essentially went through every method of cooking (deep frying, roasting, sauteeing, stewing, etc.) and made a dish that corresponded with each. We got to sample everything…DELICIOUS. I left armed with recipes that I’m dying to try next time I need to grocery shop. The pork stew (surprisingly, knowing what a white-meat pseudo-vegetarian I am) and sauteed chicken breat with 5 herb cream sauce are definitely high on my list. I’ll post recipes once I try ’em out! It was almost three hours of watching and tasting…pretty much the perfect Sunday evening in my book. Mmm.

Well, I just enjoyed some post-gym ravioli and a Mike’s Hard Cranberry Lemonade (I haven’t bought Mike’s in years! Obviously had to remedy that on our trip to the liquor store). Time to do more laundry and finish up Friday Night Lights season 1. Maybe do some required reading for class tomorrow. Maybe.

I spent last year’s weekends primarily lesson planning, reading, and in the lab. So…doing zero schoolwork on a weekend? Kind of amazing. To put it very lightly.

Random: My Italian TA (from Sophomore and Junior year) just commented on my 5K facebook album and made my day. SO sweet and encouraging. And also so confidence-boosting that I didn’t need to use freetranslation.com to read her message. I really miss Italian.

~ by Elena Marie on September 28, 2009.

3 Responses to “Weekend Win.”

  1. Sounds like you had a GREAT weekend. I’ve never thought of going to a cooking class but I really do need help… Hope you’re having a great week!

    • Thanks, I did 🙂 It was definitely helpful–I wish had taken advantage of groups like the “Cooking Club” more as an undergrad student, but it’s nice to still be able to check them out now!

  2. aw yayaayaya that cooking thing sounds so fun

Leave a comment