Classic: January 8th, 2010

Event: Interview for (meeting regarding) school externship

Outfit: White blouse: JCPenney (borrowed from Mom); Black pleated/pocketed skirt: Banana Republic; Black tights: Kohl’s?; Red patent mary janes: Chinese Laundry via DSW; Multi-chain necklace: World Market/modified (borrowed from Anna); Glasses: Hugo Boss via Costco

This morning (oh so earlyyyy) I had an interview for my upcoming school placement with the SLP who will be

Band classic, 2004

supervising me and the school’s principal. It really was more like a chat and a tour of the school. While that was about what I was expecting, I didn’t actually have any idea what I was in for, so I figured I’d rather overdress than have them think I wasn’t taking it seriously enough. I had to say “No, I’ve never heard of that assessment/methodology/author” a few times more than I would’ve liked, but overall I think it went well. It should be a good experience. Everyone seems really nice, and working with preschool and kindergarten kids for 8 weeks should be a lot of fun. After a semester of adults I am DEFINITELY ready to be back with the population for whom I got into this crazy speech-language pathology gig.

I think this outfit is pretty classic, which just meant I got to break out the new red heels for a pop of color! I have to be careful with this color combination…as a former band nerd, any ensemble with a black skirt/white blouse can really take me back to many performances with rented, ill-fitting versions of these items. When I get to make it my own, though, I think I’m a fan. It also just feels like a “safe” option for an occasion like this without completely taking my own style out of the equation.

Do you have a “go-to” outfit for less formal interviews or meetings? A combination that inspires less than wonderful memories (fashion related or otherwise)?

Photos by Anna

~ by Elena Marie on January 8, 2010.

15 Responses to “Classic: January 8th, 2010”

  1. This is perfection!!! LOVE it!!!

  2. big fan of the classic all american look. i sport it often πŸ™‚ it looks great on you!

  3. I love it! YOU LOOK SO GROWN UP! That is an amazing outfit, and I heart those shoes!

  4. I love this outfit! So polished but with the little touches of personality that I think are so important. The red shoes are awesome.

    I don’t think I’m “grown up” enough, academically or professionally, to have a go-to outfit for interviews or meetings. =P But I do love a white button-down. I’ve got 2.

    On another note… were you in band or an orchestra or something?

    • Thank you!

      Yep, played clarinet from 5th grade-senior year of high school. The photo above is of the (awful) tuxedo shirts/long black skirts we were required to rent for concerts.

  5. Ah! Haha wow that’s kinda crazy (um, to me…) cause I played clarinet from 4th grade to my senior year of high school! We had outfits like that, but we had to wear pants. Oh the memories… =)

  6. REALLY loving this look on you! classic but you still just look so cheery. and the heels keep it so fun πŸ™‚ might have to snag this idea for work this week

  7. […] is pretty similar to my (informal) interview outfit from January. Especially until I own a suit, I’m all for playing it fairly safe & […]

  8. […] Close-ups of the heels from January 8th: […]

  9. Beautifully! Especially in long skirt!

Leave a Reply

 
