Scottish Rocker?: January 17th, 2010

Event: Saying goodbye to Adam’s neighbors & dinner date at Olive Garden

Outfit: Blue printed dress: Banana Republic; Cognac heeled boots: Aldo (gift from Mom + Dad); Chain necklace: The Limited; Belt: Forever 21; Tights: Simply Vera (gift from Aunt Jan)

Decided it was time to break out my SALE WIN of a dress ($36; originally $130) when we chose Olive Garden as our destination. It’s a bit unkind to say, but I’m glad Adam will be out ofย  that particular part of TN just to no longer see overalls, mullets, sweatpants, and camouflage abounding. Of course, this does not apply to everyone. I love seeing peoples’ unique senses of style, even if they’re far from my own, but some items make me shudder no matter what (Adam told me to kill him if he ever wore a camo jacket without irony. I agreed).

This dress will always have to be cinched somehow (it’s a smidgen big), but I’m likin’ it thus far. I was excited to add another dress with longer sleeves to my closet; sometimes the constant layering required to turn my Summer dresses season-appropriate gets old. Anyone else ready for summer clothes already? Admittedly, I’ll miss my tights.

P.S. Realized yet again that I’m not comfortable facing the camera with any expression other than a smile. Working on it!

Photos by Adam

And the outfit in action: stopping by the neighbors’ place to say adios before we headed to dinner. They have two very cute kids. And Arwen cannot calm down in their presence.

~ by Elena Marie on January 19, 2010.

8 Responses to “Scottish Rocker?: January 17th, 2010”

  1. I dig the outfit. I love those boots. And the dress is awesome. And yes, I am SO ready for summer and the summer dresses abounding.

  2. Fantastic dress and I love how you paired it with those boots.

  3. I am in love with this dress! ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Thanks, ladies!

  5. Lovely dress, and I think I like it more loose and then belted… but that’s just me. I do love belts!

    • Fair enough ๐Ÿ™‚ I’ll try it sometime, but as it’s a size too big, I’m not sure it’s going to happen. Worth a shot! Also tried it just with a vest over it (no belt)—liked that, too.

  6. […] previously: here and as necklace; Skirt: here and here; Boots: here and […]

  7. […] dress of an appropriate length into the Monday-Friday rotation. I’ve rarely worn this dress (this is the only documented occasion), so it felt like time to give it another shot. I think the vest […]

Leave a comment