Honored!

What a day!

I’m so flattered that Athenista chose to include me in her list of nominees for the “Over the Top” blogging award! We’ve only been reading each others’ blogs for a short time, but I always love her outfits and the commentary along with them. She gives me tons o’ hope that it’s very possible to be a stylish mom and professional! And I’m already in love with several of her scarves!

…And while typing this post I saw that Fashion Therapist nominated me for the “best blog award”! I am so touched! My first two blog awards ever in one day? AUSPICIOUS. 😉 I have loved checking out her style posts, especially as she’s a fellow Chicagoan. She rocks some beautiful color combinations and is one of the bloggers who inspired me to break out the tweed wool shorts. Thank you so much!

Now onto fulfilling my side of these awards: nominating other lovely bloggers and answering some questions!

For the “Over the Top” Blog Award!

1. La Historiadora de Moda from Fashionable Academics

She discusses issues for style-lovin’ women in academia while showing off some beautiful outfits (all while also being an encouraging and welcome commenter!). She also just got married, is working on her dissertation, and has three half marathons in the works. All-around awesome.

2. Stephanie from Healthy and Homemade

We’ve inspired each other (cheesy, but true!) to create new outfits and share a love for cooking with lots o’ veggies. I love that her blog celebrates both style and delicious meals (and occasionally her hamster!). I’ve appreciated all her comments and I always look forward to seeing what she wore!

3. Fashion Therapist

Read more above, but this lady’s style rocks! I’ve seen her work jeans, skirts, and dresses of many shades (even while on crutches!). One of my favorite things about her blog is that she always shows how an item has been worn previously—highlights her awesome re-mixing abilities.

4. Elaine of Clothed Much

Elaine’s was one of the first style blogs I added to my Google Reader! She’s budget-conscious and chic and always remixes things in unexpected, lovely ways! Um, and I just saw that her blog header just got a makeover and I LOVE it.

5. Danielle of Fell4Fashion

Another recent find. You should be checking out her blog if only for the amazing Little Black Dress Mondays feature (um, but also for many other reasons—some seriously stylish work-wear going on here!). Always a supportive commenter, always has lovely outdoor backdrops for her photos!

And now the questions…

Your Cell Phone? basic

Your Hair? up
Your Mother? cheesehead
Your Father? engineer
Your Favorite Food? malfuf
Your Dream Last Night? tardy
Your Favorite Drink? latte
Your Dream/Goal? bliss

What Room Are You In? bed
Your Hobby? paper

Your Fear? snakes

Where Do You See Yourself In Six Years? cohabitating
Where Were You Last Night? class
Something That You Aren’t? patient
Muffins? pumpin
Wish List Item? anthropologie
Where Did You Grow Up? suburb
Last Thing You Did? data
What Are You Wearing? gym
Your TV? ancient
Your Pets? pippin
Friends? best
Your Life? balanced
Your Mood? eager
Missing Someone? adam
Vehicle? honda
Something You Aren’t Wearing? shoes

Your Favorite Store? barnes
Your Favorite Color? eggplant
When Was The Last Time You Laughed? hour
Last Time You Cried? days
Your Best Friend? boyfriend
One Place You Go To Over And Over Again? shawano
Facebook? frequent
Favorite Place To Eat? chicago

And now: Best Blog Award

One. To accept the award, you must post it on your blog with the name of the person who has granted you the award, and a link to their blog. Two. Pass the award on to approximately 15 other blogs that you recently discovered, and think are great. Three.Contact the bloggers to let them know they have been chosen for this award.

1. Athenista

2. Meg: All this Knav’ry

3. JoAnn: Sidewalk Chalk

4. T.: What Would a Nerd Wear

5. Natalie: Life My Way

6. LawGirl: Love and Lawyering

7. Samantha:  Post Grad Haircut

8. Coco: Our Paper Moon

9. Musing Around

10. Kim: Anthroholic

11. Overcaffeinated

12. Madeline: Uber-Chic for Cheap

13. Jenni: Daily Work It

14. Not That Kind of Girl

15. Londyn: BlogFashion

Will notify everyone ASAP!

~ by Elena Marie on January 27, 2010.

15 Responses to “Honored!”

  1. yay!!!! congrats all 🙂

  2. congrats!

  3. Wow thanks! That is so sweet of you!

  4. I’ve just stumbled upon your blog and read through your posts – you definitely deserve the award, and I will definitely be returning! Lovely 🙂

  5. Gracias, guapa! I am so honored that you nominated me.

  6. Thank you!! Wow, awards are crazy – and fun! I’m curious… what is malfuf??

    • It’s a Middle Eastern dish that my dad grew up loving and now makes for us (sadly, only a few times a year). It’s basically rice + ground beef, rolled in cabbage and boiled (often dipped in yogurt). I don’t really love any of those ingredients on their own…but somehow it’s my fave all together!

  7. Congrats, and thank you SO much!!!!!! 🙂

  8. Congrats on the awards. And thanks so much for mine! I’m super flattered 🙂

  9. Congrats Elena…it’s all that eloquent writing I keep telling you that you do so well 🙂

  10. Congrats on all your awards — so well deserved. And thank you for mine, it’s very sweet of you. I’ll have to do another post about it soon…:)

  11. WOW, thanks so much!! I will post about it tomorrow afternoon when G naps. 🙂 And congrats on your awards, they are well deserved!

  12. […] I received an award from Elena at Caffeinerd!  Thanks so […]

  13. Awwwww thank you so much for the award! You always have the kindest comments, I’m so happy you enjoy my blog! ❤

Leave a Reply

 
