Birthday Week(s) & Photos.

3 days old/May 22nd, 1986

I should preface this by saying I am a BIG birthday person. If I was permitted to publicly celebrate quarter and half birthdays along with the big kahuna, I obviously would (and no, not just for myself, for all the super-cool people in my life). I love picking out/making cards, finding the gift that’s just right, emphasizing the hell out of the day with the person of the hour. I very much enjoyed Clare’s post about being one of those people because, yes, I certainly am one as well. I feel every person deserves—at least—a birthday week. My supervisor suggested two. I APPROVE.

On Monday my birthday plans pretty much imploded. I had suspicions this would happen, but as they’d been set for months…it was still disappointing. I really miss my lake house, and a good girls’ week would’ve rocked. However, yesterday Sarah suggested a girls’ afternoon out in Long Grove, and my birthday cheer was completely restored. 5K buddy reunion! That, coupled with my celebratory birthday weekend with Adam, will definitely be plenty for me. And it might actually be nice to be home for the birthday week…I can’t remember the last time I celebrated my birthday with my family. So…it’s all good. Bottom line: the birthday’s during my WEEK-LONG BREAK. Can’t really go wrong with that, especially when reunions and celebrations are thrown into the mix.

So, several years ago I tried to scan photos from every birthday (and subsequently did absolutely nothing with them). I failed to track down every year, but here are all the ones I was able to find! Hope you enjoy…I didn’t leave out any awkward years, tempting as it was. Seems like an appropriate way to kick off BIRTHDAY WEEK (er, #1)…and then I will leave you alone until the real deal. Maybe.

TWO: With my grandma, also celebrating Mother's Day

THREE: I finally became a brunette. And continued to enjoy candy, clearly.

FOUR: Barbie-themed birthday

FOUR: Family celebration with Grandpa

SIX: With the adorable Anna (Check out her Belle hat!)

SIX: I still have this angel figurine

EIGHT: Last year without glasses

NINE: Pumpkin pie with Anna

TEN: Young Authors convention at ISU, Pizza birthday party

THIRTEEN: With Stephy. This photo reminds me of 7th grade's eating issues.

FOURTEEN: Birthday party! Tiffani (in aqua) just got engaged in Italia. Craziness.

SIXTEEN: Amy, Me, Stephy, Katie (of linenlaid&felt)!

SIXTEEN: Present opening

SEVENTEEN: At home (check out my Teens Against Tobacco Use tee) & at TGIFridays

EIGHTEEN: After seeing Shrek 2 with friends? Yes, I was/am cool.

EIGHTEEN: Presents

NINETEEN: With Heather; Friday's with Shelly and Joel

TWENTY-ONE: Former roomies

TWENTY-ONE: Shrek 3, dinner/drinks at Fridays, bonfire/sleepover

TWENTY-TWO: Opening presents from Adam

TWENTY-TWO: At the lake house with Adam

TWENTY-THREE: Piano Man with Abby, Ashley, Sarah

TWENTY-THREE: Lauren, Katie, Katherine

TWENTY-THREE: Anna, Ashley, Maxine, Kelli

And that’s a wrap. Any favorite birthday memories? I’d love to hear ’em!

~ by Elena Marie on May 12, 2010.

7 Responses to “Birthday Week(s) & Photos.”

  1. yay for birthdays!!! i’m happy i’m in a few pics! wish i were in more!!! LOVE YOU!

  2. YAY for your birthday!! Oooh, and I went to a Young Authors convention on my birthday one year, too! Crazy. So glad you’re taking this celebrating thing seriously. Birthdays are the best!

  3. I’m older than you?! Okay, okay, by barely over a week, but REALLY? I guess somehow I thought you were older. Must be that professional wardrobe. : )

    Happy birthday month! Everybody knows that May babies are the best babies. 😉

  4. Blah I’m sorry our girls week fell through!! We shall replace it with a Milwaukee weekend!!!

  5. I agree totally agree that May babies are the best babies, like the above commenter said 🙂 So fun to see all the pictures! I have a post like this planned for my birthday as well, but that’s not until 9 days after yours, so I’ve got a bit of time to finish scanning in some pics.

    Happy birthday week!

  6. […] Day Countdown. Exactly a year ago I posted a whole bunch o’ birthday photos. Since it’s now, again, a mere WEEK from my 25th birthday (can you tell I’m not someone […]

  7. […] photos: 3 days old- 23; 22: lake house birthday; 23: sister & friends; 24: the day, the weekend; 25: the day, the party […]

Leave a comment