Riverfront Sunday: May 23rd, 2010

Event: Sunday lunch & Anthropologie browsin’ with Adam

Outfit: Floral maxi dress: Gap; Sandals: Target; Sunglasses: H&M; Bag: Simply Vera (courtesy of Mom); Necklace: Borrowed from Anna

This dress purchase is a good example of how much other style bloggers influence and inspire me. I have long been convinced that the maxi dress is a piece that just DOES NOT work on me. Every time I’ve dared to try one on I’ve left the fitting room very disappointed and, well, feeling very fat. And, hey, I know: I’M TALL. I’m supposed to be able to pull this silhouette off. But this has never been true.

However, I recently saw Amy completely rock this dress on her blog. While we’re very different heights, this made the impossible seem possible: maybe just maybe the curse could be broken! THIS COULD BE THE ONE. Okay, fine, it wasn’t quite that dramatic. But I grabbed it off the rack while I was on my dressy-slacks-mission at Gap and wound up really lovin’ it! I agree with some of the reviews: the bodice is on the tight side (it takes a smidgen of work to get in and out of for me) and the straps crisscross in the back (unlike the photo). However, this is a raaaaaare piece of clothing where I felt comfortable going braless, so the tight fit wasn’t a problem (more of an advantage), and I LOVE the crisscrossed back. I nabbed it for $35.

It was the perfect item for this Sunday: THE DAY SUMMER APPEARED. I escaped the gross Illinois humidity in Milwaukee—it was just awesomely warm. Adam and I were determined to grab lunch outside and chose the Milwaukee Ale House—–these photos were taken very close to it. Dining on the riverfront is definitely something to which I plan to be accustomed! It rocks. I proposed that a weekly outdoor brunch always be in the budget.

This is the last of the weekend outfit photos. I have not so much embraced the new dress code (by which I mean I’m obviously adhering to it, just am not enjoying it), but will try to keep the posts coming. Will certainly be making the most of my weekends, closet! Don’t miss me too much.

Hope your week is off to a good start, fantabulous readers! Time for me to catch up on Glee. Or learn how to administer the Western Aphasia BatteryRevised. Decisions, decisions. I will try for both…

~ by Elena Marie on May 25, 2010.

12 Responses to “Riverfront Sunday: May 23rd, 2010”

  1. E- I love this dress on you! You look fantastic and so summer-appropriate. Do you have a picture of what the back looks like?

    • Merci! Bahhh I don’t think I do, actually! 😦 Will have to get one next time. Are you halfway to Cape Cod??

  2. Ah…tant pis mais c’est la vie!

    Actually only 1/4 if that far. Still on the Indiana side of the IN/OH border. NY tomorrow and CC on Thursday; am feeling all sorts of thrilled and terrified and all sorts of shades in between. How is the hospital and WAB treating you?

  3. Love the maxi dress on you!

    And a bit (ok, a lot) jealous that Milwaukee misses out on Illinois’s humidity.

  4. I’m pretty sure that’s the restaurant where my boyfriend and I had lunch on our first date day! ah, nostalgia.

    • Awwwww! That’s awesome. We’ve gone there quite a few times now for lunch & dinner…I’ve always been a fan!

  5. This dress is gorgeous on you! The fit is perfect, and I love the pattern around the hem. You look like you were having a wonderful time!

  6. Great outfit, looks perfect for the day you guys had. It looks like you guys had a great time and that it was a beautiful day. πŸ™‚

  7. I love this dress and I WANT it! You look gorgeous, cool, and quite funky (as in boho, not smelly). πŸ™‚ I have the same maxi dress concern, being tall and curvy, and have only found one or two that I think are actually flattering. I’m holding on to those babies forever!

    It looks like you had a wonderful time on the first real day of summer. And you and Adam are so cute!

  8. […] summer dress felt like the only option worth considering. I really do love this maxi-dress; consider my hatred for all of its kind EXTINGUISHED. I try not to borrow gifts I’ve given others too often, but I had to wear […]

Leave a Reply

 
