Day Two: May 25th, 2010

Event: Day two of medical placement

Outfit: Tunic: Old Navy (borrowed from Anna); Pants: Gap; Red flats: Target; Necklace: Borrowed from Anna; Stud earrings: ?

Whoops! Wasn’t ready for the above photo.

So, I’ll try not to let weekday daily outfit photos vanish…but I just haven’t been excited about getting dressed this week. Slacks and a shirt and closed-toe shoes are just fine, but it’s nothing I get jazzed about. I have so many skirts and capris that would be perfectly appropriate (khakis and a polo or basic tee are perfectly fine there), especially for a job that involves working with 100% adults, almost always while seated at a table. Plus, it’s 80 degrees out.

I think it’s mostly that fact that I don’t love any of my slacks. Don’t have any perfect-fitting, uber-flattering ones. Bought two new (massively on sale) pairs at Gap last week, but now I need my mom to hem ’em a bit (one was $14, but only because it was on final super-sale due to being an 8 extra-long). Slacks are just not what I want to be spending my money on right now.

I doubt I’ll blog about the medical placement too much on here. The same privacy policies applied at the school, too, of course, but it just felt different writing bits and pieces about it—-while my supervisor didn’t read it, she knew I had a blog, etc. And, yes, that placement was pretty much exactly what I want to do for my big-girl-life. This is a very different population and setting.

In any case, things are going well so far. My supervisors seems really nice and I think I’ll learn a lot from watching both of them. That said, I miss the school a lot (right down to bus duty!). I think this will get intimidating once I’m prepping, treating, and paperworking (and presenting to the doctor), but for now I’m mostly observing and buildin’ some rapport. OT, PT, and SLP went bowling this morning with a few patients; that was pretty sweet (My God I’m a terrible bowler!). Free pizza for lunch was excellent, too.

When it comes down to it I just really want to do a good job and not come off as a complete moron. They seem to have had negative experiences with students from other schools in the past, so I feel some pressure to make U of I look good. I also feel pressure not to make those of us who are pursuing schools look bad. There is a bit of a school/medical divide or bias in the speech-language pathology (/healthcare) community. Already having a job in a school district lined up doesn’t necessarily look great in this particular setting.

Anywhoodle. This post became a bit of a disorganized downer. Bottom line: I am grateful for the opportunity and will make the most of it (even if I wish I could wear a nice, summery skirt while doing so).

And hey, check out Anna’s grellow tunic. If it cools down a bit I’d love to wear it on the weekend with leggings and sandals (and probably this necklace, since I’m apparently addicted to it). THREE CHEERS FOR GRELLOW!

See, ended on a high note. 😉

~ by Elena Marie on May 26, 2010.

5 Responses to “Day Two: May 25th, 2010”

  1. Trust me, it will get easier. You may never love going to work in the morning but in the end you’ll learn a ton. They don’t expect you to know most of this stuff especially because you’re going into the schools, just ask lots of questions 🙂 Also, I still get nervous talking/reporting back to doctors! I stutter/get red in my face lol it’s not a pretty sight. I thought I would never learn as much as I did in my 9 weeks at Loyola but now at Alexian Brothers I feel extremely confident and I’m doing everything on my own. You’ll be that way too!! Remember Elena, I survived pediatrics! And I was peed on.

    • Bahahaha! Best end to a comment ever. Honestly, I think the patients will be great. And a lot of the speech component of tx isn’t all that different from artic/accent mod therapy, and I enjoy anything with language. I think it’s more just adjusting to the routine/feeling a bit sad I can’t use this time to prepare for what I’ll actually be doing. But it’ll be a good experience, I’m sure 🙂

      And I’m so glad you’re rockin’ Alexian Brothers!

  2. Yay, grellow makes a comeback!

    I really wish you could wear skirts and summerier (not a word, but I don’t care) pieces to this placement. I know, despite it being not your exact area of interest, you’ll do a fantastic job and make U of I look amazing!!

  3. Hi Elena! I love your outfit choices and shoes you put with them and noticed that you were rockin’ a pair of boots we sold in one of your earlier posts. Would you mind shooting me your email so we could talk about partnering up? We’d love to have a blogger post fun outfits for us. Really looking forward to your email.
    Liza

  4. oh i love the tunic! you look so gorgeous in it!

Leave a Reply

 
