Black, White, & Silver: June 9th, 2010

Event: Medical placement

Outfit: White tee & black pants: Gap; Black ruffled tank: Old Navy; Pink metallic rosette flats: Target; Headband: Forever 21; Necklace: Gift from Adam’s great-aunt

I figured I might as well discuss some favorite accessories, even if each daily outfit is just about at this level of photo-worthiness (aka questionable). Last summer’s trip to Scotland mostly involved staying with one of Adam’s great-aunts, an incredibly awesome 80-something lady who opened her home and wine bottles to us. 😉 When we left for Norway she gave Adam a few parting gifts, and I was really touched to be included as well. Honestly, I appreciate it even more now that I know that being Catholic and Scottish (or Polish, depending) are fairly important traits to some parts of his family (I am none of the above). At the time I wore this necklace daily with the three-chain necklace Anna had just given me, and Aunt Anne complimented my many layers. I miss her and Scotland…she exposed me to many a new Scottish phrase! And, let’s face it…when you’ve been grandparentless for 10+ years, you really love spending time with wonderful people of a certain age who treat you with a whole lot of kindness (and have lots of spunk!).

On the “life” front, things are mostly good. I had a full caseload for the first time today (responsible for all 6 clients/hours on today’s schedule), and it was both exciting and tiring. My supervisor was very positive, and I would concur that it just felt like a particularly good day. I really like the clients there. Wanting to work in rehab with adults—-that I get. I would never completely cross it off the list. And, honestly, I think it would keep me more on my toes as a professional—the rationale for what you’re doing has to be FIRM as you’ll likely be explaining it to your patients and their families on a daily basis. I love watching the SLPs here—-they know their stuff and rock at explaining it in a way everyone can understand. Acute care is what still baffles me as a soon-to-be SLP (though obviously some SLPs love it!). I really value the rapport building and the relationship you form with your clients…seeing someone a few times (and that’s being optimistic, from what I’ve seen) doesn’t draw me in at all. Stay away, hospitals! Rehab, you’ll probably never be right for me, but I’ll keep you on the back burner.

Time to grab a fudgesicle and do some dishes. If I can get down the stairs, that is. SERIOUSLY, people, this is ridiculous. My post-boot-camp soreness is much worse today. I mean, I’d like to go again, but not if it’s going to make me limp and feel downright pathetic for two+ days! Definitely can’t run feeling like this.

Happy halfway through the week! Enjoy this bonus, eyes-closed photo 😉

~ by Elena Marie on June 9, 2010.

4 Responses to “Black, White, & Silver: June 9th, 2010”

  1. I really like the ruffled tank! I can understand how you feel a bit questionable about the photo-worthiness of the outfits, but with the placement’s clothing restraints, you are doing a lovely, lovely job!! You always look stylish!

  2. I love this outfit, love the necklace, love the Scotland story, love it all! And I’m so happy for you that you’re enjoying work so much!!

  3. Hahaha I’m the opposite, love acute care, HATE outpatient rehab, especially when a pt storms out telling u you and your supervisor that they’re not our guinea pig and then the pt’s husband calls your supervisor incompitent!!! All hypothetical of course….cough cough

    • I’ve been really lucky with nice clients thus far (but, hey, 7 weeks to go haha). Have to hear sometime what appeals to you about acute care—I think it’s the short-term SLP-client relationship that I can’t get my head around.

Leave a Reply

 
