Nautical Patriot (Work Edition): June 16th, 2010

Event: Medical placement

Outfit: Striped tee & flower: H&M; Black pants: Gap; Black rosette flats: Target

I still have to post yesterday’s outfit, but as I feel like BEIN’ IN THE PRESENT today, I’ll go crazy with the order.

Today was pretty rockin’ as far as the medical placement goes. A 71-year-old man halted my assessment directions to tell me I was “looking really pretty today” (he liked the flower pin. good taste, sir), which is always a decent start in my book. And then I had my first (3) presentations at case conference today (the weekly meeting with the doctor in which staff members report on their clients), and everyone was so positive and encouraging! I wasn’t as nervous as I thought I’d be (I think IEP meetings prepared me).

I must say, most of my negativity/anxiety regarding this placement was based on worries that I wouldn’t do well/would embarrass myself/would somehow fail at this late stage in the game (okay, with a side of “being tired of working full-time for free”). I absolutely have many things to learn, but I’m feeling really good about the experience. I am way ahead of schedule in terms of any expectations for me (apparently I’m the first student to have done a full evaluation before her midterm…I’ll have finished 4), which feels good. And, seriously, EVERY staff member (occupational/physical/speech therapists, nurse, case manager, social worker, secretaries) has been kind to me—-welcoming me into “boot camp”, loaning me books (Charlaine Harris & Jodi Picoult are takin’ over my bedroom), chattin’…and teaching me, obviously.

I still get nervous, but I’m feeling more and more comfortable there. 6 weeks (+1 day) to go!

This outfit’s nothin’ new (hence the title). Basically is this “Nautical Patriot” look made work-appropriate. Stripes, flowers, belts…you definitely are my faves.

Hope you’re having a wonderful week! 2 days until Friday!

~ by Elena Marie on June 16, 2010.

8 Responses to “Nautical Patriot (Work Edition): June 16th, 2010”

  1. This is so cute! I feel like I’ve seen a John Wayne movie where he plays a pirate and wears a blue striped skirt with a red accent.:) Love it!

  2. So love this outfit! The blue stripes make the black pants pop. and that flower is such a great accessory.

    p.s. Jodi Picolut is an amazing author. I have read everyone of her books. She pulls you in and never lets go.

  3. SO glad that this placement is working out for you. Good people make good situations great, so its no surprise you’re enjoying yourself.

    As for the outfit–I love how the accessories make the outfit. Without the flower or the belt, it would just be a t-shirt and pants, but the addition of the accessories makes it great.

  4. cute cute cute! i’m trying so hard to catch up on all of the unread posts in my reader so i really only glanced through the photos and caught words here and there but this is what i know:

    1) you’re so stinkin cute!
    2) you’re going to love living with your other half
    3) i love fireworks!

  5. You are looking really pretty today. Good call, old man!

    I have the first Charlaine Harris book in my TBR pile, and I’ve read 5 or 6 Jodi Picoults over the past year. Which ones have you read?

    • Awww thanks! 🙂 I think I’ve read almost every Jodi Picoult book except for this newest one—House Rules. I believe there’s one other I haven’t read but I’m blankin on the name! Which one is your fave?

  6. you rock the placement.

  7. […] looks previously, outside of 7/4: Nautical Patriot, Nautical Patriot (Work Edition), Patriotic & Tan, Plaid, Plaid Gone […]

Leave a Reply

 
