First Day of School: August 23rd, 2010

Event: First official day of work (an institute day)

Outfit: Shirtdress: Gap; One-shouldered black dress: The Limited; Sandals: Target; Gold leaf pin: Thrifted; Belt: Forever 21

Another 6:20AM shot for you! Woot woot.

Monday was the first day of work aka my first day as the early childhood facility’s new speech-language pathologist (should I just give up and say “speech therapist”? I think it’s destined to be my title). Pretty exciting stuff. I won’t claim that institute days are what I dreamed about when I decided to go into the schools, but it was a great chance to meet many more new faces and get a feel for the school’s overall philosophy/aims for the year. I had no idea what to wear, and it turned out I could’ve gone pretty casual. I felt like this was a safe blend between professional-wear and my own style. Institute days were definitely more laid back—the next day actually wound up being “luau day”, so I embraced my school spirit and put on a floral summer dress/massive flower in my hair. Probably the only time I’ll don spaghetti straps at work!

Definitely had a surreal moment realizing I was going to WORK in the schools instead of going back TO school for the first time. And it is so crazy (/awesome) to finally be introduced as the SLP/speech therapist instead of having to be the “graduate clinician” or “speech student”.

More very soon. If it’s your first week of school, I hope it’s rockin’!

~ by Elena Marie on August 25, 2010.

19 Responses to “First Day of School: August 23rd, 2010”

  1. I hate “speech therapist” but it requires such less explanation to confused patients. When I deal with dysphagia I am working with a PATHOLOGY hence, speech language PATHOLOGIST!

  2. Very professional outfit. 😉

  3. I love this outfit – that shirtdress has such great details, and I love it layered over the black dress. The belt creates such a great silhouette. Hope you have a great first week!

  4. Your shirt dress is awesome! Love the ruffles on it! I hope you’re enjoying your new job!! 🙂

  5. I love that outfit…great idea tunic with the skirt

  6. Oooooh, a fashion blogger who’s an SLP?!? I am so excited! And, yeah, I caved: I’m a speech therapist. Sigh. My husband just started his CFY/RPE and is determined to be a speech-language pathologist but I bet he’ll eventually cave, too. Welcome to schools! I love your outfit but I’m bettin’ you’ll be in khakis soon, if you’re doing early childhood. Cute khakis, but khakis nonetheless.

    • And now I’m excited to check out your blog! Very fun to see other SLPs in the blogosphere. Thanks for the welcome! I’m definitely on the hunt for a pair o’ khakis this weekend, though I’ll admit they’re not my favorite variety of pant. I’d guess I’ll do my best to keep some skirts/dresses in there…long ones. With leggings. 😉

  7. Very cute and professional. I love the ruffle shirt, belted!

  8. I love the gladiators with this!

    Yay for your first day as a non-student! But why aren’t you participating in our back to school conference?!?!?

  9. I am a school SLP (this is my sixth year) and I have long since lost both the titles of speech-language pathologist and speech therapist and gained the one of “speech teacher”. I fought it for a long time but eventually gave in because that is what the kids call me. It gets easier. Good luck with your new job and you look super cute 🙂

    • I’ve definitely been hearing that one, too. I’ve already caught myself saying “speech therapist” a few times…I’m sure speech teacher is next. Thanks for the luck! 🙂 What age group do you work with?

      • I did preschool and high school for three years (I was districtwide) and for the past couple of years I have been in an elementary school and have preschool through fifth. So are your early childhood kiddos preschool age or even younger?

    • Very cool! I love that we can work with so many different ages. They’re preschool age—3-5-year-olds.

  10. Wow, congratulations on everything! I feel like this is such an exciting time for you, and I’m so happy everything is working out so well.

    And I just love this first day of school ensemble!

  11. […] experimented with layering shirts/shorter dresses over this dress a few times recently (see my first day of work), as—-on its own—-it’s never going to be a work appropriate item. But its length […]

  12. […] completed a neuro-rehab internship, moved to Milwaukee (/moved in with Adam & Arwen), began my first job as a GROWN-UP, traveled to Ireland, got engaged, took a mini-trip to Vegas, began planning a […]

  13. […] *For those of you who don’t know, it’s my second year as speech-language pathologist. I work for a public school in an early childhood program. See the real first day here. […]

  14. […] go-to for nights out (see here + many other times!) and can easily be layered for work (here, here, here). Cost per wear is very low on thee, one-shouldered LBD. Was originally purchased for a […]

Leave a Reply

 
