Dressing Room: Anthropologie

Two days after I posted my last Anthro reviews I found myself back in the store with Laura (friend from Verona who awesomely came to our apartment warming party) during our lovely Saturday afternoon stroll around the Third Ward. I figured I might as well try a few more things on . Funny aside: Laura wound up buying the Drifting By dress that I decided was too tight on me 2 days previously! It was the only one they had, and I was happy to see it go to a good home. It was gorgeous on her and will be rocked at many an event!

So this trip to the dressing room resulted in one new item on the wish list: the Camber Dress. Next on my want-to-try-on list? Perthshire Dress. Dating a Scot has indeed influenced my style. 🙂

1. Camber Dress, $138

This dress certainly clings to every curve, but I felt like in a good way. This was a size medium, and I think it fit TTS. It’s not a color I’d normally get overly excited about, but the draping was just so perfect that I fell in love pretty quickly. I think it could be a very versatile piece depending how you style it. I think this is obvious, but it definitely is not “dark grey” as the website proclaims. Poor color naming, gorgeous dress. Hey, sale, hurry. But not too quickly…a paycheck first would be nice.

2. Yemaya Cardigan, $49.95 (was $88)

I lusted after this cardigan months ago, so it was nice to finally try it on. This was a size medium—the sleeves were a bit short (which isn’t unusual for me), but otherwise it fit fine. It just wasn’t anything special on me, much as I LOVE the layered look to it. Could be beautiful on someone else if you can find it at your Anthro—$50 on this is probably akin to a steal in Anthro world.

3. Pencil Eraser Dress, $118

This is a medium. I always WANT to love dresses with the top/skirt look…but usually they don’t quite work on me. I suspect the height has somethin’ to do with it. The top was too loose, the bottom just right (I’ve usually considered myself to be fairly proportional with, er, perhaps a little extra junk in the trunk, but lately Anthro has been making me feel like this is not the case). Nice piece overall, but I think the pricetag is too steep for how thin the material of the top was.

4. Curtain Call Dress, $128

I’m apparently craving fall—had to try on this sweaterdress. I’ve been enjoying black & navy together (if that’s wrong, maybe I don’t want to be riiiight), but this was nothing spectacular in my book. Could certainly see it with tights/cognac boots, just not on me! This was a medium, TTS or a little bit big.

5. Boughton Dress, $128

Very pretty, very Grecian. This medium felt a bit loose, but overall I’d recommend the dress. Like the Camber dress, the draping is beautiful and the straps are very fun. If it were in a more unique color I’d probably be considering it more seriously…like emerald green. Oooh.

~ by Elena Marie on August 27, 2010.

4 Responses to “Dressing Room: Anthropologie”

  1. Love the first dress, that little cardigan was too cute!

  2. The Yemaya cardigan was my birthday present from Paul (when it was still full price…ugh). I love it. I can’t wait until fall so I can wear it! The Camber dress looks great on you!

  3. […] 8, TTS. I’ve been wanting to try this one on for a long time, and I wasn’t disappointed. I’ve read mixed reviews (some felt the fabric was too […]

  4. […] wanted for Ireland but has yet to go on sale, the last item from my wish list), the Camber dress (which I tried on August…such patience). Looking at my wardrobe, there really aren’t many pieces I’d call […]

Leave a Reply

 
