Navy & Yellow: September 15th, 2010

Event: Work, errands

Outfit: Navy shirt: Banana Republic; Black pants: Gap; Yellow rose belt: heart of light (etsy; gift from Adam); Sandals: Target; Earrings: Walmart

I truly didn’t think I’d be getting outfit photos this week. Every time a new Halo game comes out, Adam prepares me well in advance that I will be a “Halo widow”. And yet…every time I must admit that I still seem to manage to get some lovely moments from him. One game release was just a month or two into our relationship, and I recall that he still came over to watch some Arrested Development with me on the day it came out. That’s when I knew this was love.

I’m kidding. Mostly.

In any case, Adam kindly snapped these photos right before he turned on the Xbox. Navy, yellow, and black and becoming a favorite color combination. Funnily enough, my supervisor was wearing this exact mix today as well (and similar pieces—navy tee, skinny yellow belt). Ah, great minds. 😉 I’ll never tire of this beautifully made belt.

I need to get back to therapy prep, but GUESS WHAT? Today was my first pay day! Income, sweet income. Yes, seeing the taxes that get taken out was painful…but whatever. I’ve never made more than like $750 a month (aka my research assistantship), so it was still pretty darn exciting for me. It’s so nice to be in the real world, finalmente.

I always thought I’d splurge on one item after receiving my first grown-up paycheck. Hmmmm…decisions, decisions. Did you purchase anything special with your first paycheck?

~ by Elena Marie on September 15, 2010.

4 Responses to “Navy & Yellow: September 15th, 2010”

  1. My first grown-up paycheck splurge was to treat myself and a friend to a $75 per person brunch that we talked about going to for years. I like that my first splurge was an experience rather than an item I would forget about. 🙂

  2. That is *such* a pretty belt! I haven’t been commenting on your blog as much as I would like – I’m trying to be more of an active commenter again. Anyway, I love the way you have your bookcases arranged, and I don’t think I ever said congratulations when you guys moved in together, so congratulations! You guys seem very happy. =) And congratulations on your first grown-up paycheck!

  3. Lovely belt! I can’t remember what I splurged on with my first ‘real’ paycheck…but I’m sure it was something boring and mundane. So try and think of something memorable if you can to spend it on!

  4. Navy and yellow is one of my favorite color combinations. This looks lovely, and the detailing on the belt is great!

Leave a Reply

 
