Cardigans & Kings: October 8th, 2010

Event: Going to see The Social Network

Outfit: Cardigan: JCrew Factory Store; Skirt: Gap; Boots: Steve Madden; White tank: Old Navy; Necklace: Urban Outfitters (gift from Anna); Belt: CAbi (handed down from Mom); Bag: H&M

So, the King of Gondor has been in my trunk for months. Shhhh. Don’t tell.

My mom threatened to dispose of him, so I felt like I had to save him from my parents’ house. But, um, we really don’t have a place for him here (and I don’t think Adam’s, er, fully on board with him), so in the trunk he remained. Anna gave me this Aragorn cut out for my 18th (?) birthday, and he’s been around ever since. I had (yeah, past tense is not completely accurate) a full-blown Aragorn/Viggo Mortensen obsession in high school. I only brought him in from the car because Arwen needed some space to chill until we dropped her off at puppy daycare for the weekend, so now he’s in the living room…just waiting to be attacked by Arwen. 😦

ANYWHO. My nerdiness aside, this was what I wore to a 9:50PM showing of The Social Network on Friday with Adam. I suggested we have a casual evening, and then came out in this, which Adam found to be very comical. Soooo our next movie night will literally have to include JEANS & T-SHIRT. End of story. This is my new JCrew cardigan, obtained for $34 (originally had a “special price” of $72). I feel like I cannot own enough grey cardigans, especially when they have fun details. Okay, this is probably the last one I’ll buy, but STILL. Love grey. This skirt is always a bit challenging to style for me—I want the bow to show, and layering on top of it makes my tummy look all lumpy. This seemed like a good way around it–leave the cardigan a bit open but belted to keep the details in view.

I really liked The Social Network and recommend it! I was a college freshman in 2004 (the year facebook launched), so it was surreal to watch how it began and evolved. I remember when it was only for certain universities (U of I being one of them by the time I began school)….now….wow. Everyone and (literally) their grandmother is a member. I kind of miss the days where only a .edu address allowed membership. Ah, facebook. You were so much a part of my college experience.

P.S. I asked Adam to take a picture of Arwen with her, er, true love, but as of yet he has declined… 😉

~ by Elena Marie on October 11, 2010.

12 Responses to “Cardigans & Kings: October 8th, 2010”

  1. You and Aragorn look so natural next to each other. 🙂

  2. Random question: Where did you get that wine bottle print that’s behind you in a couple of the pictures? I’ve been looking for some good pieces of artwork/wall decor for the new house, and I really like that! 🙂 (Also, you look very nice, as usual. 😉 )

    • It’s a canvas Adam’s mom gave me last year for Christmas—pretty sure it was from Marshall’s 🙂

  3. Hahahaha, I love how you’re posing with Aragorn! I adore LOTR, and Viggo could not have been a more perfect son of Arathorn. 🙂 You are adorable, too! I just love the skirt with the boots and the long cardigan! I agree with you on the appeal of grey cardigans — I seem to always be acquiring more and more! Hey, the color works for so many others, so it only makes sense to have a bunch of grey cardis with different details for different occasions, right? … Right? Hahaha!

  4. I adore that cardigan! What a great outfit!

  5. I love the cardi and I also loved the Social Network. I started college the exact same time, and it brought back a lot of different memories too.

  6. ahhhhhhh Aragorn! I like how in that first picture you’re looking off as if its completely normal to stand next to a poster of mr. yummy-man. I’m also a big fan of grey and the way you did it here with the turquoise is gorgeous.

  7. Where was Aragorn’s outfit from? I love that you still have that cut out. It makes me happy every time I think about it. Mmmm… now I crave LOTR. Damn you Lena for putting those ideas in my head!

  8. Too funny! 🙂 I really love that preppy cardigan!

  9. Love this post! And that outfit is fantastic – love the teal skirt with that longer cardi and wide leather belt!

  10. […] Star Wars themed party. Yes, I’m a nerd. (Duh). […]

  11. […] to bake pumpkin bread/get the coffee going and we were OFF. Craziness. So glad we did it, though. Nerdiness is definitely one of the things that brought and has kept us together. Gotta love […]

Leave a Reply

 
