Madison Explorers: October 9th, 2010

Event: Exploring Madison, WI

My Outfit: Dress: Anthropologie; Boots: Steve Madden; Necklace: Urbana Outfitters (gift from Anna); Earrings: Walmart; Bag: H&M; Cardigan: Gap; Belt: Borrowed from Anna (seen below for nighttime)

Anna made her tank top and skirt! See Between Laundry Days for more amazing looks from Clare.

On Saturday Adam and I made the 1.5 hour drive to Madison, where my sister is currently a junior. The main event on the docket was a Sunday matinee of Wicked, but we made lots o’ other exciting plans as well. Right after we arrived we all walked over to meet Clare and Joe at the massive farmers’ market. We dined on a feast o’ hot & spicy cheese bread (a Madison delicacy) and pumpkin pie while sittin’ beneath the Capitol. Adam and I stocked up on some veggies for the week (I’m thinking eggplant/zucchini/feta cheese paninis tonight with some roasted brussel sprouts…I heart veggies!) and we sampled some yummy cheeses. It was great to see Clare again and to meet her guy. 🙂

After Clare and Joe headed off to be productive folks, Adam, Anna, and I went back to the Capitol for an official tour. It’s gorgeous inside, but the best was the view from the observation area. Beautiful! Madison was truly the best place to spend an autumn weekend. So much fall color! We later enjoyed ice cream and beer at the student union, followed by a stroll along the lake (again, GORGEOUS! Such an amazing running/walking path). Wanting to avoid the Homecoming crowds, we waited until 8pm to grab dinner at The Old Fashioned. We still wound up waiting over an hour, but it was worth it! I tried two yummy WI beers (one of which was pumpkin), we all split cheese curds, and I went for the same delicious roasted veggie sandwich I chose last time. By then it was almost nearly bed time (yes, I am getting old), so after an episode of Chuck it was time to call it a day.

More soon!

P.S. Clare thinks these photos emphasize a short stature, but I will point out that Anna is 6’1″ and I’m 5’10” (closer to 6′ in those boots). So…it’s all relative. 🙂

~ by Elena Marie on October 12, 2010.

6 Responses to “Madison Explorers: October 9th, 2010”

  1. Wow. I am really making massively attractive faces in those pictures, huh? Yikes. Also, DAMMIT I’m short!! That first picture is so funny!

    It was so lovely seeing you again this weekend, and meeting Anna and Adam. I can’t wait to do it again soon, in MKE or Chi-town!! 🙂

  2. So… I think Anna should make me some clothes. 🙂 Looks like you had fun. And all of you were very stylish.

  3. Clare, I know you’re on the short side, but Elena is super tall! I think that was one of the first things I said to her at the meet-up!

    Regardless, you both are ADORBS! Elena, I absolutely love your dress!!!!

  4. yay love your pics it was such a fun weekend together! It was great to meet you, Clare! You’re a stylish gal! 😉

  5. This is a really pretty picture…
    All you guys look fabulous… I never knew you were a tall-y like me!

  6. […] girlfriends (now scattered across IL and the globe), expand my culinary repertoire, and meet more blog-friends. This blog is still a pretty tiny one in the grand scheme of things, but it’s my little […]

Leave a Reply

 
