An SLP’s Outfit: October 18th, 2010

Event: Work

Outfit: Purple sleeveless blouse: JCrew Factory Store; Grey cardigan: Gap; Black, pleated skirt: Banana Republic; Boots: Steve Madden; Tights: Simply Vera; Stud earrings: Walmart

Time to play catch-up in a big way. Photos from all of last week are forthcoming. I’ve decided this isn’t such a bad thing, though, as this week at work is “Red Ribbon” week and thus I will likely be wearing usually-taboo items like HOODIES and, er, slippers. Hey, school spirit in the form of utter coziness is something with which I will get on board.

This outfit takes us back to last Monday. It looks a bit lumpy and off-kilter here, but I liked it. I have pretty much been finding any excuse to a) wear my new boots and b) avoid pants completely. It’s been working out pretty well thus far.

Last week Melanie left a comment asking what I do. I’m a speech-language pathologist in an early childhood program, so I work in a public school (only with children ages 3-5). I wrote a post about speech-language pathology during Better Speech & Hearing Month (you can find it here), and what I described in there (during my 8-week internship with another district), is fairly true to what I do now on a daily basis. My job involves more articulation therapy (working on speech sounds) than I would’ve expected, but I also have a large number of kids on my caseload with language-oriented goals. I’d be happy to answer questions anyone has regarding speech-language pathology or early childhood (though this is my first job post-grad school). Emails/comments are always welcome!

Time to get my act together. We’ve been having some fun weekends, but I’m so excited to be IN MILWAUKEE next weekend. All this traveling is exhausting!

 

~ by Elena Marie on October 24, 2010.

2 Responses to “An SLP’s Outfit: October 18th, 2010”

  1. I love the buttoned, belted cardigan with this. And I’m glad you’re going to get a chance to stay home for a weekend. I’m staying in Chicago this weekend, too, and I’m SO excited!

  2. not lumpy at all! cardigans with pockets = cozy.as.heck. will you be showing us pics of you in slippers and decked out for school spirit??

Leave a Reply

 
