Brazilian Yellow: November 12th, 2010

Event: Dinner at Sabor, drinks at Safe House

Outfit: Tweed dress: Urban Outfitters; Yellow tights: Gap; Yellow rose belt: heart of light (etsy, gift); Black cardigan: Simply Vera (courtesy of Mom); Boots: Diba

Oh boy, 2:30AM photos. Lookin’ rough.

But hey…the yellow tights don’t make it out of the closet too frequently. Their craziness obviously must make it onto the internet. Although, I will say, I feel like I did my best to make them a bit less crazy here. Keeping the rest of the outfit black (& yellow) made it look far less daring to me.

Some of Adam’s co-workers invited us to go for dinner Friday night at Sabor, a Brazilian restaurant nearby. It was the most expensive meal of my life. It was also one of the most decadent. We started with the “salad bar” (most incredible salad bar ever) and then you are just served meat CONSTANTLY unless you flip your coaster to “red” and indicate you’d like a break. The meat (filet mignon, sirloin, rack of lamb, bacon wrapped chicken, sausages, etc) is accompanied by traditional sides (rice, beans, mashed potatoes, fried bananas), and a bottle of wine (+ beers) was also ordered. Pay day, you did not come a moment too soon. I will say, though, if there’s anything outside of clothes I don’t mind spending a little extra money on—it’s delicious meals with friends, especially when they feel like a whole new cultural experience of sorts. But, no, my meal cannot equal a full-priced J.Crew sweater for a very, very long time.

After Safe House we all had a nightcap back at Michael & Tanja’s (who, conveniently, live in our apartment complex) aka chose from their selection of whiskeys. Mmm. Scotch really has grown on me. And then it was somehow 2:30AM and I was asking Adam for outfit photos before throwing on pjs and crawling under the covers. We still felt full the next morning, Brazil. Wowza.

~ by Elena Marie on November 15, 2010.

9 Responses to “Brazilian Yellow: November 12th, 2010”

  1. Love the yellow accents! Also, I know it was a few posts ago, but congrats to your sister!

  2. I love that Brazilian steakhouses let you “take a break” from the gluttony! The first time I went to one I hit up the salad/sides bar, but the second time I stuck with the meat—no wasting space on salad or beans! Meat….

  3. You *do* look a smidge tired in that top pic. Isn’t crawling under covers after a long fun night the BEST THING EVER?

    I do love the yellow tights on you. You rock them oh so well and look amazing in them.

  4. NOM. Joe and I have been planning to go to one of the Brazilian steakhouses in Chicago for ages, and just haven’t gotten around to it. I think I’m convinced that it’s worth it now. 🙂

    And I love the outfit. Fantastic!

  5. Ok, the yellow tights are a little…bright…but you have made them fantastically appropriate and completely casual in this outfit. I love it!

  6. can you please tell me the secret work for the safe house? i really hate public humiliation, and mark has vowed to take me there. i do not want to have to do jumping jacks or anything wacky to have a drink! :S does that make me old? haha

    • So I’m not totally violating it (WHAT IF THEY FIND THIS AND NEVER LET ME IN AGAIN bahaha)…may I recommend Googling it? 😉 It begins with a contraction. I did an embarrassing hula-hoop-passing exercise the first time around, but this time Adam told me it. I promptly forgot it after saying it at the entrance, and he now refuses to tell me it again. But I just double-checked…definitely can be found online!

  7. I love all the yellow. Maybe I should look into some yellow tights.
    I’m late the the caffeinerd party, but I figured after seeing all your tweets with my other favorite bloggers I should see what it was all about.
    I love your style and your blog!

  8. I love those Brazilian places! My favorite one in LA randomly closed last year and broke my heart ;-( You look fab for such a wild and crazy place!

Leave a Reply

 
