Skinny Cords: November 15th, 2010


Event: Work, errands

Outfit: Suit jacket: JCPenney; Orange/navy/brown blouse: Simply Vera; Grey skinny cords: Gap Outlet; Boots: Diba; Necklace: The Limited; Belt: Forever 21


First of all thank you so much for all A) the flattery on the previous outfit post (you ladies make me blush & smile; you rock!) and B) the congratulations for Adam and my sister! Kind comments brighten my day big time.

And onto the clothes! I finally found a pair of pants that work with boots! And my body! Skinny jeans have been an all around fail for a long time for me, primarily in terms of fit. Oh, some definitely don’t flatter either, but most commonly I wind up with a gaping waistband and a way-too-tight on the calves sensation that makes them not even a possibility. I stopped at the JCrew factory store before going to Gap and was SO CLOSE with their skinny cords, but—again—wound up feeling like I was in between a size 8 and 10…it just was not working out. Their matchstick jeans don’t work on me, either. 😦 Sad realization. But at Gap I found these, and all was well (especially with 20% off pants plus my 30% off coupon). I suspect I’ll mostly wear them with boots. Just so excited to have another pair of pants in the work-appropriate (and weekend-ready) rotation.

Alright, time to get back to work (it’s my lunch break….soup + crackers/hummus somehow have not filled me up at all…BOOoooo). No big updates to report. Adam left for Chicago last night for work, so Arwen and I have been on our own (she is an awesome cuddler, seriously. I woke up face to face with a sleeping puppy and did NOT want to get out of bed), which mostly has meant her watching me do paperwork. Or watching Harry Potter. Adam will be back tonight, which is good for Ms. Arwen…she has such separation anxiety when he leaves. I try not to take it personally (but sometimes, um, fail).

ANYWHO. Time to get set up for the afternoon. Happy half-way point! Friday will be here soon enough.

~ by Elena Marie on November 17, 2010.

5 Responses to “Skinny Cords: November 15th, 2010”

  1. I love that shirt! And the skinny cords at Gap did not work for me at all. I ordered a pair offline because they didn’t have them at the store out here. Tried them on and almost began to weep because they just didn’t fit. Returned them. I wish I had been quick enough with the skinny cargoes, but again, was not. That outfit rocks, by the way. I enjoy it… a lot. And yay for HARRY POTTER! SO CLOSE! Jonathan and I just got tickets for Friday. 🙂

  2. i know what you mean about skinny jeans! i have a few pair that i’ve tried to make work, but they never seem to fit in ALL the places i need them to. annoying.

    ahh….waking up next to a sleeping, cuddly pup – it really is the best! 🙂

  3. yay you finally got some skinnys! i love them charcoal gray is my fave.

  4. I love the skinny cords! I also love the seasons of Gilmore Girls behind you as I own them all too! (Yes, I can spot them even blurry)

  5. Yeah, I’m a huge fan of skinny cords. Magnificence. And this blouse is kind of perfection.

Leave a Reply

 
