Guinness & Gruel: November 23rd, 2010

Event: First day in Dublin (touring, walking, eating, drinking)

Outfit: Cardigan: JCrew Factory Store; Scarf: c/o Lara Miller; Skinny cords: Gap Outlet; Boots: Diba

Our flight got in a bit before 9AM on our first day, so after we collected our luggage we headed off to check into our hotel and take a thirty minute nap. I think it turned into more like an hour(so sleepy!), and then we changed clothes and decided to make our way into the city. Go go going is challenging on noooo sleep and a lot of time awake, but I do think morning is the best time to arrive. No waste of a day…ohhhh well if your body thinks it’s 3AM.

Our first stop was the Guinness Storehouse. We enjoyed Guinness stew at the restaurant and then toured toured toured. They have a really awesome set-up there—I’d recommend it! We learned how to pour a perfect pint (total naturals ;-D) and checked out the view from the 7th floor. Good times. Guinness is by no means my favorite beer, but it’s still a very cool experience. After Guinness we walked into the city centre and located Gruel, one of the restaurants recommended by my sweet pocket-sized guidebook. It was delicious! We got cappuccini, foccacia w/dips, and shepherd’s pies (neither of us could even finish half). After wandering around we settled in for a couple o’ pints at the Palace Bar. I really love pubs/bars in Europe. Just such a fun, conducive-to-lots’-o’-talk atmosphere.

Around ten we cabbed it back to our hotel (the next day we’d conquer the bus system), feeling exhausted after being awake for 35ish hours. And so ended Day One!

~ by Elena Marie on December 2, 2010.

7 Responses to “Guinness & Gruel: November 23rd, 2010”

  1. Yay! So fun! I’ve always wanted to go to Guinness. It’s where the magic happens! 🙂

  2. This makes me want to go to Europe so much more! Jonathan and I have to get there before we start popping out kids.

  3. Yay Ireland pics! I have a pic in front of that waterfall but Adam’s pic is better.

  4. yay for your outfit and for Guinness!

  5. You’re first day sounds great. You are my kind of travelers. When I went to London, we arrived in the early morning to get a full day of shopping and sightseeing in. I also think it’s the best way to get your body adjusted to the time change.

    Your outfit and pictures are just perfect. I love that trench, too.

  6. great photos!!! looks like and amazing time!

  7. God I miss Irish cider! So delish. I love a relaxing first day just filled with site seeing and eating!

Leave a Reply

 
