Proposal Day: November 25th, 2010

Event: Traveling around Ireland…getting engaged!

Outfit: Black open-front cardigan: Express; Switching buttons skirt: Anthropologie; Scarf: c/o Lara Miller; Belt: Forever 21; Brooch: Dublin; Boots: Diba; Leggings: Gap Outlet; Engagement ring: gift from Adam via Treiber & Straub 😉

On Thanksgiving Day we left our hotel around 6:15AM, taking a shuttle to the airport to pick up a rental car for the day. Our days spent traveling in the Scottish Highlands were some of my favorite, so I was definitely looking forward to this day. Adam had planned that we’d be on the eastern coast for the sunrise in the little village of Howth. I now know why this was pretty important to him—when our first rental car didn’t start, for example, and our second was covered in ice…I don’t blame him for being a little worried that our timetable was thrown off! He had some important bling burning a hole in his pocket.

We did make it to Howth, and in spite of the wind and cold, it was BEAUTIFUL. We got to look out onto the cliffs, little village, and island as the sun creeped up. Adam set up his tripod to take many photos (which, of course, is not at all atypical), and at one point asked me to turn around so he could get a photo of me gazing out at the sea. When I turned around, he was down on one knee with the ring in hand, asking me to marry him. Sigh. Romantic!

I hurriedly said yes, hugged & kissed him, and soon after we raced into the car for warmth. Then it was time to hear all the details (how had all this come together?! My sister had known for weeks? His sisters had known for weeks?! He told his mom at the airport before we left??) and let it all sink in. I think I was still a bit in shock. People have asked me a lot whether I knew this was going to happen. Hey, a proposal in Ireland certainly popped into my head, and it was a lovely fantasy—but I did not want to get my hopes up. The trip would’ve been a bit disappointing if it didn’t happen, and so I tried to put it out of my mind (not that I was completely sucessful with this, but shhh). One of my co-workers was the only person to say it out loud in the week before we left (“WAIT. Do you think he’ll propose in Ireland?!”), but apparently Adam’s sister Janelle wondered it aloud the minute she heard we had booked a trip to Ireland ha. In any case, looking back there are signs this was going to occur (many a mention o’ this sunrise excursion, a very dressed up Adam for a day of travel, reminders not to turn around), but really Adam kept things very well under-wraps! He even showed my sister the ring in person in Madison while I was in the bathroom and I had NO CLUE. So many good secret keepers.

Adam chose this day in particular because a) we love traveling together and b) it would be just the two of us. It was awesome calling our families and sharing the good news (I managed to wait until 1PM in Ireland aka 7AM in IL), but otherwise we just got to celebrate with just the two of us, which I LOVED. No need to call every person we knew yet, no need to explain to strangers. We just enjoyed amazing Italian food for lunch with a celebratory glass of red wine, stopped to take photos by ancient ruins, and made it to the Cliffs of Moher for sunset (all the while knowing we were ENGAGED!). Oh my goodness are they beautiful. Sunset was the perfect time to see them with the light shifting constantly. On our way home we picked up champagane from a gas station, because we are awesome like that.

Not an even remotely American Thanksgiving, but I’m jusssst fine with that (especially since we had our own belated Thanksgiving last night). It’s still crazy to me that we’ll be GETTING MARRIED in, mostly likely, less than a year. That this is our first/last Thanksgiving and Christmas as an engaged, unmarried couple. But it just feels so right. I love our little family, our little life here in Milwaukee. I can’t wait to make it official with friends and family in attendance. Eeks! By this time next year I’ll be Elena Marie Arcus.

Wheeeee!

spot where Adam proposed!

~ by Elena Marie on December 5, 2010.

12 Responses to “Proposal Day: November 25th, 2010”

  1. I just teared up a little! So exciting! Congrats again you guys! I love my twin! AND I LOVE MR. TWIN!

  2. yay so beautiful!

  3. Elena, I am just SO happy for you and Adam. You’re clearly so in love, and so happy. The proposal sounds unbelievably romantic, and perfect for you. Congratulations again!!

  4. AHHHHHHHHHHHHH So romantic I’m swooning =)

  5. Sooo romantic 🙂 congratualtions again to both of you

  6. Aaaaahhhh, I’m so excited for you two! What a great way for him to propose. It was so personal and unique and you guys!

  7. so wonderful!

  8. Thanks for sharing this story and the pictures! I was smiling while I read it. 🙂 I’m so excited for you two!

  9. Congrats! That’s so wonderfully romantic! 😀

  10. oh my gosh I don’t know how I missed this post!! I’m tearing up it is so sweet and romantic and oh my gosh your ring is GORGEOUS!!

  11. Wow I’m always so behind with following blogs on my google reader… but CONGRATULATIONS!! The ring is absolutely gorgeous and it looks like you guys had a lovely day. I can’t even believe those pictures on the cliffs at sunset…

  12. […] (/moved in with Adam & Arwen), began my first job as a GROWN-UP, traveled to Ireland, got engaged, took a mini-trip to Vegas, began planning a wedding. Along the way I continued to work out (though […]

Leave a Reply

 
