Miss Elena: December 14th, 2010

Event: Work

Outfit: Dress: Banana Republic; Cardigan: JCrew Factory Store; Tights: Simply Vera (gift); Boots: Diba; Brooch: borrowed from Anna

On Tuesday the awesome gifts from my kids started rolling in. Below you can see the bracelet one of my four-year-old girls made me—-Miss Elena! Adorable. I’ve been enjoying homemade loot & gift cards this week; kind of forgot about this particular perk of working in schools! It’s a nice one. I’m lucky to have very sweet kids & parents.

Can you spot what’s different in these photos? I’M NOT WEARING GLASSES. I finally got around to making it to the optometrist on Monday for a new prescription, so decided to test drive my contact sample the next day. I don’t think I’ll ever be able to wear contacts on a daily basis again (darn dry-eye), but these feel SO much better than my old ones, and the prescriptions is awesome. I’ve tried to get past it, but I just feel so much more pulled together wearing contacts.

This is one of the few cardigan-dress combos that I enjoy belt-less. One of my co-workers asked if the cardigan and dress came together, so I felt like I succeeded in putting together a cohesive look. I confess, I’m glad I decided to hang onto this dress. Lovin’ it layered!

~ by Elena Marie on December 19, 2010.

5 Responses to “Miss Elena: December 14th, 2010”

  1. I’m glad you kept the dress, too. I love the print! I had also forgotten about gifts from students. In high school, all I got were eye rolls, so all of the gifts this week were welcomed surprises! Hope you are enjoying your time off 🙂

  2. This is very cute. The dress print is lovely and the sweater makes the whole thing so sharp. I want to wear this!

  3. such a sweet gift from the kids! Love the combo of the pattern on the dress with that cardi!

  4. File this under potentially useless, unsolicited advice from a stranger on the Internet: taking a fish oil supplement every day might help your dry eyes enough to enable you to comfortable wear contacts. Strange but true. It has worked wonders for me.

    • Thanks, Amy! I did fish oil for about a year when I first found out I had dry eye (suggested by my opthamologist) and it didn’t seem to do the trick…but really I should give it another shot! 🙂 I’ve pretty much just been doing over the counter eye drops right now (used to also do Restasis, but didn’t cure me either).

Leave a Reply

 
