THE Dress.

I asked for tips re: THE dress, and you kindly answered! A few of you also awesomely emailed me photos of your gorgeous dresses along with your advice. These readers and their beautiful wedding dresses can be found below. Today will be my first day o’ dress shopping, so it seemed like a good time to post them! The dresses below range from approximately $225-$5000 and are all pretty darn gorgeous, which is a big comfort to me as I embark on this mission. C’mon, budget. WE CAN DO THIS.

Jessica sent me these photos from her July 31st wedding (can I just say that getting married on J.K. Rowling/Harry Potter’s birthday would rock my world?!). She had hoped for a vintage dress, but when that didn’t pan out she came across this gorgeous dress—-in her budget!—-that she felt really represented who she is. Fate! The lace is so pretty.

Next up is my friend Katie of linenlaid & felt. Having attended her & Tony’s wedding I can attest that this dress was perfect for her! Katie’s gown is a Melissa Sweet. She wound up debating between several of Melissa Sweet’s designs, but this one (“Carrie”) emerged the winner! I especially love the way the straps make a “V” in the back. Beautiful!

Lisa got married on August 7th in this beautiful gown. She helped me breathe a big sigh of relief by assuring me I will be able to find dresses in my budget—she did! This dress worked perfectly with the headpiece she wore (previously worn by her mother and grandmother). I’m loving the black and white photo!

I also got to attend Carly and Paul’s wedding! Carly found her dress at David’s Bridal, and it came with a very reasonable price tag. While she had pictured something very different, her sister-in-law forced her to try this gorgeous halter number on and it turned out to be the one! The drop waist is so different and dramatic!

Viktoria wore JCrew’s Sophia dress, nabbing it for a mere $225! It was the only dress she tried on! It felt perfectly “her” and (obviously) was the perfect choice. I love her veil, too! Such great proof that lovely dresses come in all price points.

Thank you so much for sharing your photos and dress shopping experiences, ladies! I’ll have to let you all know how shop numero uno goes today!

~ by Elena Marie on December 22, 2010.

3 Responses to “THE Dress.”

  1. Elena,
    enjoy dress shopping. It is so much fun and really eye opening. I tried on every dress I could and it allowed me to try on different versions of my wedding. Even if there’s something out of your vision, try it on anyway, you’ll never know if you don’t try it on. Most of all, HAVE FUN!

  2. I’m glad you got so many responses! It’s so much fun to see everyone’s dress and I know you’ll find the perfect dress for you.

  3. Have fun!! I was so rushed for my wedding I didn’t get a dress that was my “dream” dress, but then again I saved a ton of money and got a week long stay in the Bahamas for our honeymoon. It’s all about what’s more important I guess lol.

Leave a Reply

 
