Dressed.

So, today I went to my first bridal appointment…

…And then bought the first dress I tried on.

I’m still rather shocked I did this (and I know Adam is), but it just felt right. My consultant was goooood. I tried on four dresses today, but numero uno just felt like the one (Mom & sister concurred!). I already had two appointments lined up elsewhere for the 28th, but I’m cancelin’ ’em. Dress=DONE. The only sadness comes from knowing I won’t get to try on more beautiful gowns, but I feel really good about the decision.

The whole experience was very positive and pleasant. I’ll admit to voicing fears about a) not fitting into the dresses, b) feeling awkward having a stranger dress me, and c) not having things flatter me. Frankly, none of these things were a reality. I felt kind of fabulous in bridal gowns. Okay, really fabulous. Being tall and hour-glassy has never felt so good.

Since I’ve been asking for pricing info, I’ll share that my dress was $950, and then we got 10% off for purchasing on our first visit. I’m really, really delighted that I stayed in budget with no issue whatsoever. I don’t need any alterations other than having our fave local (& affordable) seamstress figure out the bustle for me. SCORE.

I’ll go ahead and recommend A L’Amour to anyone in the Chicago suburbs. My cousin got her dress there, too—-and so did one of my co-workers, 13 years ago! Great service, comfy robes to wait in, and lots o’ great accessories at hand.

~ by Elena Marie on December 23, 2010.

8 Responses to “Dressed.”

  1. LADY. That rocks!

    Also: being tall and hour-glassy should always make you feel fabulous. 😉

  2. Fabulous!! How exciting =)

  3. Wow! Congratulations!
    When you find the right one (dress and man) you know it. 🙂

  4. Wow!! Congratulations!! That’s amazing! 🙂 I can’t wait to see what it looks like (If you took any pictures, feel free to e-mail ’em to me — hint hint wink wink)

    Have a very merry Christmas!
    Katie

  5. oh, how exciting!!! can’t wait to see it 🙂

  6. on the first visit?!?!?! !!!!!!!!! amazing! so happy for you, E!!! 😀

  7. Congrats on finding a dress right away!! I am sure you will look amazing in it!!
    I also bought the first dress I tried on…

  8. Congrats on finding a dress! I’ve had some gal pals that took foooooreeeevver before finding something – and I think the more dresses you look at and try on, the more confused you end up being!

    Have a happy rest of 2010!

Leave a Reply

 
