Hints of Red: January 6th, 2011

Event: Work

Outfit: Striped tank: Gap; Cardigan: Banana Republic; Wool skirt: Thrifted ($2.50); Boots: Diba; Tights & necklace: H&M

RANDOM NEWS FIRST: I’m going to Vegas (for the first time) in three weeks!! Adam’s going for a week on business, so I’m just going out for Friday-Monday morning before his work things start up. We get to stay at The Palms and only pay for one (discounted) night due to it being a work trip. WOOT WOOT. Long weekend, warm weather, fancy outfits, time with my guy. I’m pretty excited about it! Semi-spontaneous trips are becoming a new fave.

So, today I went to the gym for the second day in a row and rocked another 45+ minute treadmill work out! I’ll confess I’ve been going pretty slow (I only logged 3.75 miles in 45 minutes today), jogging for 20 minutes, walking for 5, jogging 10, walking 5….etc…but it feels good. I made it to the gym by 5:15 today and was home/showered/dinner made & consumed by 7. I haven’t been bringing much work home lately, so working out regularly really should possible. I’m shooting for 4 days minimum per week.

This ties into this outfit for me because, well, I do feel like part of the reason my fitness has gone downhill has been style bloggin’. Just because, while I get home 1-1.5 hours before Adam, I’d wait around in my clothes until he got home so I’d have pretty photos…usually pretty much squandering that time. BUT whilst cleaning Adam found his old tripod and handed it over to me. While the quality is obviously very inferior to Adam Arcus photos, on days where workouts need to be prioritized, I’ll take it. I walked in the door, took out the pupster, posed for a few shots, and changed/ran out the door.

I’ve only worn this skirt once before, which is a shame. It’s a good length for work, and I love the little bit o’ red in the pattern. I bought this cardigan back in August, but it got left at one of Adam’s friend’s lake house and just made it back to me this weekend. It’s super soft and pretty, but the chain on the front of it came partially off today. I think I know why it was on super-sale, Banana Republic. Grr. Anywhoodle, I enjoyed the combination of patterns and proportions. I dig longer, fitted cardigans with pencil skirts.

Time to get back to Girl With the Dragon Tattoo on my nook! Lovin’ both the read and the nook.

~ by Elena Marie on January 6, 2011.

10 Responses to “Hints of Red: January 6th, 2011”

  1. i could probs fix that chain for ya

    • sweet, annster, thanks! i saved it…i think it’s on my desk at work haha. and yes, i hope there shall be bling. wish i could buy more for the trip, but with the trip being an unexpected expense of sorts should probably restrain myself for the most part…

  2. and woot woot for las vegas! look at you and your adventures. i sense a healthy dose of bling coming in your outfits for that trip.

  3. Vegas! How fun!! I like hearing about your running. I’ve recently started running again and I’m slowly making my way up in miles. My goal is to run 5 miles every other morning before work. I say every other because working out in the morning involves getting up at 4:45 am!

  4. I used to have a mini-skirt with the identical print, vintage from my mother, and it disappeared in one of my moves during college. I was disappointed. It was one of my first vintage items, and I wore it a lot.

    Working out is good! I’ve been really trying to do that more, using the elliptical (sp?) or stationary bike in the morning while reading blogs on my laptop.

    Just finished The Girl Who Played with Fire and loved it. Waiting for the next one from the library.

    Have fun in Vegas!

    Oh, and I just got an email from my friend with the place that she got her wedding dress – I Do Bridal Designer Consignments in Chicago, but it’s too late for you to use.

  5. Cute! I’m a huge fan of tripods as that’s the only way I take my pics anyway. How did you end up with Arwen in that first pic? Also that silly look on your face is precious 🙂

    How is it that the skirt isn’t in regular rotation? Its such a great skirt with a classic pattern.

    • Arwen tries to be in every photo 🙂 She follows us around the apartment almost always, so I just had her sit haha. And I know—must put it in the regular rotation. I think it had previously been too tight or something? Who knows how my brain makes decisions. 😉

  6. Nice! I love pencil skirts, and I couldn’t really see the red you were talking about in the pattern until that last detail shot. Then I was like, “Oooo, I can see why she likes this skirt!” Haha!

  7. The pup is toooo cute! I love this look, very professional. YAY for Vegas! I love how you say warm weather, I always think it’s freezing there in the winter! I hope you have a blast! My husband and I try to go at least every 4-6 months, we love it there.

  8. Gah! Vegas? How fun! It’s one of those places that I’d probably never CHOOSE to go, but that I’d happily take a free trip to anytime.

    Love the outfit, too. Great cardigan!

    Oh, and I may have to take you up on that LOTR offer…

Leave a Reply

 
