East Side Hipsters: January 7th, 2011


Event: Dinner @ Cafe Hollander w/Adam

Outfit: Hat & necklace: H&M; White button-down: JCPenney (handed down); Shorts: Gap; Tights: Simply Vera (gift); Boots: Aldo (gift)

After seeing Adam’s outfit (and, er, my own):

Me: We look like hipsters!

Adam: Well, we are going to the East side.

Hence the title of this post. Apparently we both very much associate the East side o’ Milwaukee with a more laidback vibe (I have no idea what “being a hipster” actually entails, that’s just the label that comes to mind). Our waiter did say “no worries” a whole lot. It’s fun exploring other parts of the city—-this particular part of the East side definitely rocks my socks. We first went to Cafe Hollander when we visited Milwaukee to tour Adam’s former apartment for the first time. I recall some amazing chicken pot pie and beer being consumed. This time we both went for beer (of course), but I got the Flemish stew…and stole plenty of Adam’s sweet potato fries. Yum yum yum. I also grabbed a new WI beer to try (“The Big O”), and Adam replenished the Scotch. After dinner we pretty much did our own things for the evening, with Adam playing lots of Halo and me spending lots o’ time on my nook (and only drinking 3/4 of a beer before falling asleep. Last week wore me out). This one of the things I love about living together…being able to have “alone time”…but still get to see the other person plenty. Definitely something that felt nearly impossible during the long distance phase of our relationship.

Alright, time to work. Lunch over. Hope your week is off to a wonderful start!

~ by Elena Marie on January 10, 2011.

7 Responses to “East Side Hipsters: January 7th, 2011”

  1. I have said it before and I will say it again, you guys are a match made in heaven. Perfect for each other personality wise, and now style wise.

    Love the shorts over tights combo. I actually have a post with a similar look going up tomorrow.

    p.s. I love your necklace. I am either going to have to go to H&M and look for it or try to DIY it.

  2. very “hip” outfit!!
    Love that necklace and the way you style shorts and tights….those sweet potato fries look delish!

  3. Hahaha, hipsters! You guys do look really hip, and I probably would think that you both knew a great deal about art and indie music if I saw you. Which you probably do anyways, haha! So you’re a hipster in the non-pretentious use of the term, which isn’t bad at all!

    And that food looks DELISH. YUM. Also? I love your shorts and I think I may need to steal them out of your closet.

  4. You guys may be hipsters, but you’re the best kind. The laid back and enjoy a beer kind. I love the wool shorts look on you, and these pictures came out gorgeous today!

  5. Dang hipsters! Arr! *shakes fist like pirate*

    Seriously, though, you two make damn good hipsters, and it looks like you had a great time!

  6. […] wear something new and a bit unique in honor of the new photog arrivals…and does it not feel all hipster-y once again?! Must be the hat. After hearing some hipster stereotypes of sorts, I’d just like […]

  7. you two are too cute. i like your ensembles.

Leave a Reply

 
