Yellow Swan: January 8th, 2011

Event: Black Swan & wine at Kafevino with Adam

Outfit: Traced twirls dress: Anthropologie; Cardigan: Simply Vera; Belt: Forever 21; Tights: Gap; Headband: JCrew Factory Store; Heeled brogues: Payless

I wore this dress similarly for the first time for a girls’ night out in Chicago, but I will say that I think the accessories make all the difference in this case! The yellow tights always feel like a bold choice. Adam said you barely noticed them with this look, which I consider to be the highest compliment when donning them…I feel they are pretty ridiculous in of themselves. I try to pick my clothing more carefully when wearing them! I’ve had this headband for months, but always thought it looked too huge somehow. Sometimes with glasses I just don’t think statement headbands work. But, the contacts were in and the hair was down, and I’m glad I gave it a shot. I love yellow flowers.

We went to The Oriental on Saturday night to see Black Swan. Honestly? Neither of us loved it. I can see that the direction, costumes, and acting rocked…but the story didn’t do much for me. I am, however, so glad we’ve been seeing movies more often again! This particular theater was AWESOME. More ornate than the other ones I’ve seen at the Oriental. We used to go to movies a couple times a month, and somehow life has been too busy lately. True Grit last week (was definitely a fan!), and I’m hoping for The King’s Speech very soon. As an SLP, people bring it up a whole lot, and I’m gettin’ bummed I haven’t experienced it. Plus, sure, I heart Mr. Firth.

We split a bottle of wine at Kafevino post-show before heading home to the pupster. I’m so glad we got a full weekend in Milwaukee…they have been rare lately!Ā  We spent ALL of Sunday watching Lord of the Rings (extended versions, naturally), which took us something like 14.5 hours once you factored in breaks. I got up at 7:30 to bake pumpkin bread/get the coffee going and we were OFF. Craziness. So glad we did it, though. Nerdiness is definitely one of the things that brought and has kept us together. Gotta love it.

Alright, time to shower, read, and relax. I’m staying with my parents again tonight as I have a routine doctor’s appointment tomorrow morning. I really need to find a doctor in Milwaukee (recommendations=welcome!).

~ by Elena Marie on January 10, 2011.

11 Responses to “Yellow Swan: January 8th, 2011”

  1. It’s so funny because I thought True Grit was just alright and LOVED Black Swan. šŸ™‚ Speaking of LOVE, that lining under your dress is so freakishly adorable. It’s small details like that, that make a piece truly unique.

  2. First of all, LOVE the dress! So pattern is so sweet & chic. Second, I love my doc in MKE, she’s a part of Affiliated Healthcare’s branch of Aurora, if you’re still looking I can give you details for sure!

  3. So as I looked at your outfit I thought, oh that’s so cute, and then…the lining! No way it’s too much adorableness!!!! You must stop.

  4. I love the shape of your dress! And that hairbow!! Lovely look šŸ™‚

    I’ve heard that Black Swan was scary… Do you think it’s scary?

  5. Adam is so right, the dress steals the show from the yellow tights. Looks FABULOUS too!

  6. Yay for wearing yellow tights! I wore mine last week, but now I think I need some yellow accessories like your awesome head band to tie outfits-with-yellow-tights together!

    I’ve been interested in seeing Black Swan AND True Grit… but I heard that Black Swan is pretty visceral, so I don’t know if I can handle that, haha! And marathoning LOTR extended? I am impressed. I can usually only handle 1.5 of those movies per day!

  7. The yellow tights look fantastic with this dress, but what’s really drawing my eye is that amazing headband.

  8. I love the yellow…such a great idea…love the headband!!
    I have only seen True Grit and I loved it…I stayed awake, so that is a good movie in my book!

  9. You guys are seein’ all the rad movies I want to see! I gotta convince Joe to go to the talkies with me! šŸ™‚

    Also, I love this date-night outfit. Like, SO much. The yellow tights and pink underskirt are so freaking fantastic.

  10. pretty lady! i like that headband you can rock it! man, i cant wait to visit you guys you always do fun stuff.

Leave a Reply

 
