Embellished Black: February 11th, 2011

Event: Night out in Milwaukee w/Adam & friends

Outfit: Dress: MissMe via Flirt; Boots: Steve Madden; Earrings: Francesca’s

Last week Anna and I explored some of the Third Ward’s boutiques, including one I’d never been in: Flirt. I wasn’t planning on doing much purchasing, but the sales rack was awesome. I walked away with two dresses: this one + a red one for Valentine’s Day. This one was $25, the red one was $23 (something like 70% off).  Happy price tags! While I want to prioritize other pieces in my wardrobe soon (blouses & shoes top the list), I couldn’t pass up the embellishments on this dress, the unique short sleeves, the comfy fabric. I envisioned it as a great dress with which to pair my colorful tights, but for its debut black made the cut.

Adam and I went to the gym pretty late together on Friday (only 2 people in the gym—SCORE!), stopped to get Chinese food on the walk home, and enjoyed some 30 Rock until about 10pm. After finding out Michael and Pierre were at a bar downtown, I was commanded to hurry my booty and get ready to go. Ah, being on a guy’s getting-ready timetable is a challenge sometimes. I was grateful to have a dress at the ready and hair that’s willing to twist into a wet bun. We wound up a club downtown, so I was glad I was a bit dressy. I forgot how short a walk it really is to get right downtown…oh, how I love our apartment.

Drinks & conversation with friends = win. Sightings of many girls sans jackets? Amusing, but sad, too. IT’S WISCONSIN IN WINTER, PEOPLE. I confess I left the puffy coat at home in the name of style, but the wool coat & gloves were firmly in place. We watched one girl in very high heels, a very short dress, and no jacket take a tumble while leaving a club. Oof. I’m used to seeing this on college campuses, but c’mon. This is a city. Let’s add a little class. I did not need to see…all of you. I was the only female in our group on Friday, and it was nice to hear that the guys found this behavior equally ridiculous. Bottom line: in freezing temps, coats are a good choice. Promise.

P.S. We didn’t get home until 2:30am and thus slept in until noon. Way past my old lady bedtime. 😉


~ by Elena Marie on February 13, 2011.

4 Responses to “Embellished Black: February 11th, 2011”

  1. super cute, i’ve been waiting for you to wear it! i like how you did your hair too

  2. Very cute dress!!! I don’t girls who feel like they can make do without a coat. I will make sacrifices for fashion but that’s a little extreme.

  3. I love the gold details on this LBD! I have no idea how you can stay up until 2:30AM. I can barely make it past 11pm!

  4. Yowza!! I love how this is both super classy and WAY sexy. The shoulder embellishments are awesome.

Leave a Reply

 
