1/4 Russian: February 18th, 2011

Event: Dinner w/Adam, start of COUPLES WEEKEND

Outfit: Ruffled skirt: Lauren Conrad for KOHL’S (gracias, madre); Cardigan: JCrew Factory Store; Black tee: Old Navy; Necklace: H&M; Tights: ?; Boots: Diba

Title purely in honor of how I apparently grab things off our shelves and pose with them. RUSSIAN QUARTER, REPRESENT! My sister and I both have beautiful “made in Russia” nesting dolls. My largest doll is so warped that the dolls no longer close, so I believe this set it currently without its mom. Especially with getting married I’ve realized how lacking in cultural traditions our family is (whereas Adam is planning to incorporate quite a bit of his Scottish/Polish ones). My mom’s German, but is quite a few generations away from the homeland…my dad is from Jordan but very much identifies with being American (his dad’s from Turkey, his mom’s from Russia…but today he only speaks English and primarily was raised Lutheran). It all gets pretty muddled. I grew up with some yummy culinary traditions, but that’s about it.

Back to all things sparkly, ruffled, and grey. I wore this for a quick booze run in preparation for our guests (we found gluten-free beer! score!) and a late dinner out at Riverfront with Adam (yummy California turkey burger!). The couples started arriving around 10pm (Beth and Jeff), and then not until midnight (Chris and Noreen). It was a nice night in with friends. Beth is also an SLP in early childhood, so it’s always good to compare programs and experiences.

So…what to take away from this post? Our wedding reception will obviously have to be covered in tartan and Russian nesting dolls (seamless joining of traditions, no?) and I get dressed when I leave the apartment (and remain so, even in the presence of booze!). SUMMARY COMPLETE.

 

 

~ by Elena Marie on February 21, 2011.

4 Responses to “1/4 Russian: February 18th, 2011”

  1. Dude, that first pictures is SO cute!!

  2. I love that skirt, I have it in black and think it’s so cute. I like it with the boots.

  3. I love talking about peoples’ heritage! I think your intent to incorporate some of your fiance’s cultures/traditions into your life sounds really nice. I wish my family had more traditions from our heritage, too, but like you it’s pretty limited to food-type traditions. Growing up though, we had plenty of quirky things that were unique to our family so I guess I still feel pretty lucky. I just need to make sure I do them with my kids as they start to get older…

    Anyway, I love that skirt! I’ve probably said that before, but it’s still true. 🙂

  4. […] fine. One day I grabbed a Russian nesting doll and now holding random items could just be par for the […]

Leave a Reply

 
