Building A Mystery: March 11th, 2011

Event: Work/Sarah McLachlan (concert=minus glasses, swapped in wool shorts/black tights)

Outfit: Pink ruffled top: Target; Suit jacket: Worthington/JCPenney; Jeans: Gap; Necklace: H&M; Studs: Urban Outfitters; Boots: Diba

So, Sarah McLachlan is perfect. Most beautiful, haunting vocals EVER and she put on an amazing show to boot. No real opening acts, just members of her band’s songs interspersed with hers throughout the show (Butterfly Boucher and Melissa McClellan were also fantastic!)—with Sarah singing back-up during them. Gah. She rocks. One of my best friends from childhood, Sara, came up from Chicago for the show. We see each other very rarely now, but Ms. McLachlan was a big part of our middle school years, and I had to invite her up! Such a great reason for a reunion. You can see previously scanned in photos of us below, though sadly the babyhood ones are missing. We’ve known each other since the ages of 11 months (her) and 6 months (me). Craziness!

We went out for dinner before the show (also with Adam!) at The Wicked Hop and stopped for a post-show drink on the walk home. Returned to find some of Adam’s friends rockin’ out to Rock Band, so the night soldiered on. All very good times.

I must get my booty to the gym, but first must draw attention to my new studs (above!). They were my spend-$14-instead-of-paying-for-shipping item from Urban Outfitters, and I’ve been wearing them daily.

Childhood besties:

 

Pink ruffles previously:


~ by Elena Marie on March 14, 2011.

8 Responses to “Building A Mystery: March 11th, 2011”

  1. oh man, i love me some sarah mclachlan! i always get made fun of for liking her (why?!!!) but her vocals are some of the best. like you said, so haunting and so beautiful.

  2. Those pics of you and your bestie are so adorable! I love how great friendships stand the through many years.

  3. I love Sarah! I saw her years ago at Lilith Fair, it was one of the best concerts I have ever been too.

    Love this magenta color on you.

  4. Jealous of the concert! And I love the pink ruffles and the pretty statement necklace. Giant wolf-whistles to the previously worn ruffled shirt with the black skirt, too! šŸ™‚
    http://www.dlynne16.blogspot.com

  5. I love that shirt! I believe there was a purple version, and I desperately wanted it, but they did not have my size (way back when). It’s a great shirt to be paired for a casual outfit and for work. And I love the earrings. They are beautiful!

  6. Love these pictures of you and your friend! And I’m a big ol’ longtime fan of Sarah Mac. I bet she was incredible live.

  7. […] So, Sarah McLachlan is perfect caffeinerd.wordpress.com […]

  8. […] up over mimosas and bacon. Sara is one of my friends-from-6-months-old-&-onward amigas, and we’ve seen each other pretty rarely since middle school. BUT now we live just a couple of miles […]

Leave a Reply

 
