7 Things & 6AM: April 6th, 2011

Event: Work

Outfit: White blouse & headband: LOFT; Skinny cords: Gap Outlet; City flats: Gap; Rose: H&M; Studs: stella&dot

Well, the legitimate photo choices for today’s post were slim. WHY DO YOU SAY THAT, ELENA? you might inquire.

Because my puppy spent all of the self-timed shots capsizing our papasan chair. I must take some of the blame. I encouraged her to try a second time while holding the chair, and it STILL toppled. Right into the window. Eeks. Poor puppy. I spent the rest of the shots making sure she was okay (don’t worry, Arwen is resilient. She just brushed it off and demanded belly rubs). And then it was time to rush out the door to work. So, um, EXCUSES EXCUSES. P.S. I like my new ruffly LOFT top. The sleeves make me happy.

And now that I’m done regaling you with tales of my life before 6:15AM, I’ll move onto 7 things about me. Melanie of Dressed to IL kindly awarded me a “versatile blogger” award, and thus I must share seven things (and pass this onto 7 bloggers I recently stumbled upon).

1. I love chick flicks, even certain ones some may consider to be terrible (Crossroads, What a Girl Wants). I’m watching Life As We Know it right now. When Adam’s away, the Netflix queue undergoes a strange transformation…

2. I played clarinet for 8 years. I was good. (& I can barely read music anymore).

3. I have three cousins total, in spite of my parents each having multiple siblings.

4. My dad’s real last name was completely changed (his parents’ decision) several years after he came to America from Jordan, which made the decision to take Adam’s name pretty easy. (P.S. Let’s all have a “taking his name” blog discussion soon, k?)

5. I’m named after both grandmas. Elena + Marie. 🙂

6. Arwen ismy first dog experience. I grew up with fish, hamsters, guinea pigs, and a couple random hermit crabs/salamanders.

7. I’ll be 25 when I marry my best friend. I ALWAYS thought I’d get married much older (my parents were a whole decade older), but this feels very right. Didn’t expect to meet my”forever” guy at 21. I feel very lucky.

Here are 7 blogs I’ve found fairly recently & enjoy!

1. Surely Sonsy

2. Engineer & Geek Tie the Knot (Leanna also has a running blog!)

3. Ginger Girl

4. Not Just Mom

5. From the Mixed-Up Files

6. Knit, Teach, Ride

7. Feather Factor

 

P.S. Not related to anything whatsoever: Check out this Mother’s Day card. Bahaha. Love it.

 

~ by Elena Marie on April 6, 2011.

7 Responses to “7 Things & 6AM: April 6th, 2011”

  1. hehe! little arwen!!! gotta love little puppy antics 🙂

  2. oh Arwen….

  3. Whoa I hope Arwen didn’t scrunch up those blinds too much! I love your outfit, understated chic! And thanks for sharing those fun facts! I’m on the other side of the cousin spectrum, I can’t even count how many I have, but I don’t really know them so it’s weird.

  4. Arwen is adorable! And I love that flower pin. The whole outfit looks great!

  5. Yay, thanks for the shoutout in the list of blogs you enjoy!

    Your outtake pictures were hilarious (I’m glad Arwen was OK!). Especially the one where the papasan is all tipped over and the blinds are askew. And you’re just like…Must. Stay. Fierce. Try. To. Ignore.

  6. Poor puppy! Glad she’s ok.
    I, too, have a whole bunch of Netflix guilty pleasures in my queue. Lots of romantic comedies or other chick-flicks. But since my boyfriend lives out of town I can indulge in them a little too often!

  7. poor Arwen…
    Love all the ruffles on that cute shirt!
    Thanks for the award…I am so excited!!

Leave a Reply

 
