Professional Development: April 29th, 2011

Event: Work (professional development day)

Outfit: Sweater: JCrew Factory store; Tee: Old Navy; Recurring Themes skirt: Anthropologie; Flats: Gap; Necklace: Forever 21

Friday was a rare “NO JEANS” day at work as we had a full day of professional development put on my the district. Honestly, I expected to be a bit bored (just because, well, 6+ hours of lectures tend to make my brain fall asleep), but this was not the case at all! My colleagues reported that this is the best development they’ve ever had, and I believe it. One of the keynote speakers was Dr. Dave Walsh, who I loved. Everything he said about kids (and parents. and teachers) was so intuitive and in keeping with what we see in our classrooms, but also backed up by some great research and brain science. You can check out his recreation of the “Marshmallow Experiment” below. Adorable (and fascinating to this nerd).

The day definitely reenergized me about the importance of literacy/language, tailoring treatment to each student’s needs, and the—in my opinion—AWESOME factor of education. A lot of the stats at lectures like this always make me grateful, per always, that my parents read to us constantly. I have only seen my dad read a handful of books for pleasure in my entire life (not his thing), but he read to us all the time. And, seriously, the stats on what happens when parents DON’T read to their kids are horrifying.

Arwen and I waited for Adam to get home so we could all go on a walk around the neighborhood (and pick up bacon, which Adam is currently cookin’, at the Public Market for the next morning!). Adam and I then went out for dinner at Barbiere’s (sinfully buttery garlic bread, yummy pizza) and watched Kick Ass back at home. I fell asleep. By Friday night I’m just exhausted (whoops).

Having a bunch of friends over tonight, so much go enjoy some brunch and get my clean on. Happy weekend!

~ by Elena Marie on April 30, 2011.

2 Responses to “Professional Development: April 29th, 2011”

  1. Aw, sounds (and looks!) like a totally awesome Friday. I love your skirt. Super profesh. 🙂

  2. Such a great skirt! We always read to the boys before bed. Brian and also are avid readers and we try to instill that in our boys!

Leave a Reply

 
