School Dance: May 12th, 2011

Event: Work, school dance, drinks out with Adam

Outfit: Black tee: Old Navy; Gold pleated skirt: Gap; Sequin necklace: Flea market; Boots: Diba

Knowing I was attending the “Spring Dance” a bit after work, I figured I could be a little glitzy for work on Thursday. I hadn’t really thought of this skirt as one for Monday-Friday, but it was just fine (SOMEHOW kept my twirling to a minimum during the day…flashing risk was a bit too high). I got this skirt on final sale at Gap during the 30% off weekend awhile ago. Usually I wear things the minute I get home, but somehow this one got pushed aside for a couple of months. I’ll admit that I might not have bought it if it wasn’t $10ish, but I think it’ll be a good piece. I’ve definitely gotten better about not buying things I feel just “okay” about/experiencing major regret later. I think being financially independent has upped my game. SCORE. Keep up the good work, self.

The dance was very cute (seeing three-year-olds trying to break-dance ridiculously adorable), and also very very hot. We all, including the kids, were very sweaty people. After I had hokey-pokey-ed enough for the evening I headed back to MKE. When Adam got back from the gym he suggested a drink out (which turned into a wine outing—1/2 price bottles, baby!), so it started to feel like the weekend. Love Thursday nights.

Time for bed! We were in Champaign all weekend for Adam’s sister’s graduation, so will post on that soon. Hope you had a good one!

Sequin necklace previously.

P.S. Couldn’t resist including photos of Arwen below. Awesome game: putting a blanket on her and just watching the rest unfold…

~ by Elena Marie on May 15, 2011.

5 Responses to “School Dance: May 12th, 2011”

  1. Ha! Blanket Arwen is my favorite Arwen. 🙂

    And I love your outfit! Perfect for a school dance. The color of that skirt is lovely.

  2. I love that skirt. Your school dance sounds a lot cuter than the ones I have to chaperone. I usually spend most of the night yelling, “NO TOUCHING!” or consoling some girl who is crying in the bathroom. I also love seeing the Arwen pictures.

  3. i really like the black and gold combination! i think i need more twirling in my life!

  4. This skirt is fantastic! And for $10-ish? That’s a good deal. I love the color and the fact that it’s all pleated. I have to tell myself not to buy anything I only feel “okay” about, too… but it’s so so hard when it’s really inexpensive. 🙂

  5. […] only worn this skirt once before (oops). Overall, it’s a little bit short and swingy for work…but when it occurred to me […]

Leave a Reply

 
