Summerfest (I): July 2nd, 2011

Event: Double date at The Domes + Summerfest

Outfit: Traced twirls dress: Anthropologie; Belt: Forever 21; Sandals: Target; Necklace: Flea market; Sunglasses: Gap; Bag: H&M

On Saturday we picked up Anna and Camden for a fun double date at Milwaukee’s Domes (a favorite from our childhood!), dinner at our apartment, and an evening at Summerfest (we ate too much fried food and heard a smidgen of Maroon 5). It felt like the first truly HOT day of the summer, so a strapless cotton dress felt like my best bet. Luckily, by the time we made it to SUPER CROWDED Summerfest, the heat had faded a bit.

Honestly? I certainly maintain that living several blocks from the Summerfest grounds is very excellent, but I’m not sure how many nights I’ll make it there this week. We have tickets to Florence + the Machine/Black Keys/Cage the Elephant tomorrow, which will be awesome, but OOF. I had forgotten how crazy packed it gets and how uncomfortable it can get without an assigned seat ha. I’m more excited for the cultural festivals coming up (mostly Festa Italiana! Whee!). I’ve also never been so grateful for assigned parking & the ability to walk almost everywheere during Summerfest. Allows me to just enjoy people-watching/soaking up how busy the Third Ward is without any negative effects!

Time to watch Amsale Girls and get my 4th of July outfit up! 🙂 Hope you had a wonderful holiday weekend and great start to your week.

~ by Elena Marie on July 5, 2011.

2 Responses to “Summerfest (I): July 2nd, 2011”

  1. that black and white dress is such a perfect summer frock!

  2. […] Our first night at Summerfest wound up being more about cheese curds & the Sky Glide than Maroon 5, but Wednesday’s triple-header of  Cage the Elephant, Florence & the Machine, and The Black Keys was an AWESOME experience. Honestly? I’m not a huge concert or music person (I know; I’m weird), but I LOVED this show. Every group had such energy and gave an incredible performance. Florence’s voice is even more powerful live! Adam, Michael, and I went to Chili Lili’s beforehand to fuel up for the big event and met Anna there. It was just so nice going to a show with assigned seats ha. Must do this at least once every year; such a relatively relaxed way to experience Summerfest. Tonight I went to watch Adam play volleyball at the beach (did some watching, some reading of Hunger Games whilst chillin’ on Alex’s Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles towel) for a few hours and then a bunch of us trekked back to Summerfest to catch Edward Sharpe & the Magnetic Zeros and a litle bit of G.Love (cheese curds may have made an appearance again as well). It was worth it just to hear a very long version of “Home”, see friends, and meet new people. […]

Leave a Reply

 
