Harry Potter.

Closing Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows after a full day of reading was much more of a conclusion to the world of Harry Potter than seeing the 8th movie will be for me,  but it still feels like an appropriate time to to say THANK YOU to J.K. Rowling. I have never encountered a series of books so perfectly written, a plot so perfectly planned and executed, characters so rich. Books that truly inspired children to read; kids who had no interest in a book before Harry, Hermione, and Ron came along. Heck, books that inspired ADULTS (hi, Dad) to read again. I started the series on a family roadtrip to Branson, Missouri because my 9-year-old sister wanted them read aloud to her. Since then I’ve read the series more times than I could count, listened to them on my long commute, visited the cafe’ in Edinburgh where Philosopher’s Stone was drafted. They’ve become my measuring stick for new people (the phrase “Oh, why read them? They’re for kids and I could just see the movies” will not start us off on a good foot), fair or not (probably not. sorry). An instant topic of discussion, one of the first things Adam and I bonded over.

You already have been missed, Hogwarts, and—after tonight’s viewing—-I suspect even more so. Thanks for being a magical, brilliant, emotional universe that I get to experience all over again whenever I want. One of my biggest hopes for my future children is that they fall in love with Harry Potter; that they learn so many valuable lessons about good vs. evil; to see that good can triumph. To have a passion for reading.

So long for now. All is well.  🙂

Are you a Potterphile?


~ by Elena Marie on July 15, 2011.

6 Responses to “Harry Potter.”

  1. Whether you return by page or the big screen, Hogwarts will always be there you welcome you home. – J. K. Rowling.

    I’m not sure what your definition of Potterphile is, but I’m sure I embody it. I love Harry Potter so, so much. The last movie was amazing and I will miss it.

    Although HP will never truly end, of course. 🙂

  2. I second all of your sentiments. I’m so sad to see it all go. But, there’s always The Wizarding World of Harry Potter in Orlando. That was one of the ways I said goodbye this summer. 🙂

  3. I just confessed my true feelings towards Harry Potter (http://majalisblooms.wordpress.com/2011/07/15/my-harry-potter-confession/).

    Crap.

    Hope we can still be Internet friends. ; )

  4. I am such an HP fan that I plan on getting Hedwig tattooed behind my ear. I am so sad that it’s over but that movie was truly AMAZING. Honestly it’s the end of an era.

  5. I freaking LOVED those books. I cried for 15 minutes straight while reading Deathly Hallows. People who haven’t read the books don’t understand the love/addiction, and don’t really get the movies either. I wish the movies would have shown more of the memories that Dumbledore shared with Harry while they were meeting, I think the movies only showed one =( Anyway, I’m sad it’s really “over” now!

Leave a Reply

 
