Beating the Heat: July 20th, 2011

Event: Errands in the hot, hot summer

Outfit: Dress: The Limited (2008); Cuffs: Old Navy; Sandals: Target; Necklace: Flea market

Sooooo hot today. Other than a few errands (…I even justified driving to 3-blocks-away Anthropologie by stopping there on my way to the grocery store) and walking Arwen around the block I have been firmly planted inside. Which, honestly, isn’t even rockin’. Temperature currently reads 80 degrees (is supposed to be 74, A/C! YOU FAIL!). Might go hang out in the apartment’s club room for awhile if this doesn’t improve. Our windows/blinds are all closed, but somehow the heat sneaks in.

This is a very basic outfit, but it gets the job done on hot days. This was my undergrad graduation dress, but nowadays it’s usually an easy day look. Cotton summer dresses, you stand the test of time!

Stay cool, amigas!

~ by Elena Marie on July 20, 2011.

5 Responses to “Beating the Heat: July 20th, 2011”

  1. Cute dress! I’ve definitely been guilty of driving to nearby places when it’s hot out. How does Arwen hold up in the heat?

    • Thanks 🙂 She’s good for a short walk (half mile) any time of day, but any longer than that she’d definitely need a water break/be panting up a storm in this heat!

  2. Stay cool, woman!! It’s toasty out there!!

  3. Love the dress! Very cute and perfect for hot summer days.

    Its been crazy hot where I live too. Our AC runs non-stop (I’m keeping my fingers crossed it doesn’t decide to break) I love the summer but this heat is crazy!

  4. Oh man, I usually try to walk over to the grocery store or stop by biking home from work (it is right across the street, like seriously takes as much time to drive there as walk there), but in these crazy hot (and humid) summer days, I will take driving. To be fair though, this kind of weather is less hard on Houstonians, since we’ve got to deal with it all summer (and now that it’s my fourth one here I think I might be adjusting).

Leave a Reply

 
