Pattern Mixing EBEW: August 9th, 2011

Event: Errands

Outfit: Striped tee: H&M; Shifting buttons skirt: Anthropologie; Pin: Thrifted; Sandals: Target

Couldn’t sleep last night (I’ll admit it was probably the post-dinner coffee had with friends) and when Adam got up for work I just didn’t feel like staying in bed. SOOOOOO I actually noticed what was going on for Everybody, Everywear today and dressed accordingly! With a day of errands on the agenda I could embrace some whimsical pattern mixing.

(Clearly this is a sign that I should get up before 10am more often ;-D)

After a morning spent cleaning and dealing with laundry, I headed out to a suburb to check out crafty supplies for potential wedding projects before meeting Adam at the travel agency. New Zealand is almost definitely off the table, which I’ve pretty much come to terms with/am just excited to go some other time. Basically…we’re not willing to sacrifice the relaxation part of the honeymoon, and unless we travel at least every couple days we’re not seeing everything we want to (no South Island). Plus, the quote we got was right at the tippy top of our budget. Might be better to go in a couple of years for a 2-week backpacking trip, stay in cheap hotels, etc. Our typical trips DO involve lots of travel, but we’d like this one to feel different. Hence…Hawaii is currently the frontrunner. I’m randomly researching St. Lucia, too (anyone been there?). Sad to bid adieu to Mordor (for now!) but excited to figure out what adventures (& luxury!) our 2 week honeymoon will hold!

Alright, time to see if a variation of this project will work with the supplies I nabbed…

 

~ by Elena Marie on August 9, 2011.

7 Responses to “Pattern Mixing EBEW: August 9th, 2011”

  1. Oooh, honeymoon planning, exciting! I’d love to visit New Zealand, but I agree that I would want my honeymoon to be relaxing (especially after months of planning and stressing over wedding details) and not so much a backpacking type of trip. I’ve never been to Hawaii, I’m going for the first time this Thanksgiving and am so excited! Good luck planning!! I’m sure wherever you choose, you’ll have a wonderful time!

    P.S. Love the pattern mixing!!

  2. Oooh honeymoon planning was the best part! We went to Mackinac Island and stayed for five days. It was great because we could still sight see, bike, hike, etc, but there wasn’t so much to do that we couldn’t relax either.

    Miles and I have a June 2012 trip planned for Hawaii to celebrate our third anniversary 🙂

  3. best of luck with the honeymoon planning…i haven’t been to any of those places, so i’m of no help. i will tell you though, that i love your skirt!

  4. fun fun! mom was tellin’ me about those flag guys- they’re ever so cute!

  5. I absolutely adore how you mixed these patterns. That skirt is to die for and the stripes look great with it!
    -Meagan
    http://spunkychateau.blogspot.com

  6. We considered Hawaii for our honeymoon, but ended up in London with a day trip to Paris…
    Love your pattern mixing today…such a great skirt!

  7. I’ll always love that skirt on you!!!

Leave a Reply

 
