Hola Suburbia.

I made the trip down to suburbia on Wednesday/Thursday to see my mom & sister and to check out Ravinia (my first time!) with co-workers. The tickets (to Los Lonely Boys/Los Lobos) were purchased back in the spring, and wow did it sneak up quickly! I loved the whole gourmet-picnic-outdoor-concert experience. We had AMAZING weather, it apparently was much less crowded than usual, and the mostly-guitar music set meant it was easy to catch up with everyone.

At the last minute I had a flash o’ genius and realized I should stay through Thursday afternoon so that my mom and I could enjoy The Help in theaters (I knew she’d read it, too). Anna was awesomely free, too, so we all got to go see it and love it. Other mom/daughter activities included hittin’ up the seamtress to try on a veil & roaming Costco (of course—hello, super cheap goat cheese).

My sister leaves for NYC in a few days. I’ll next see her at my bachelorette party…and then at our wedding. Very, very strange realization. I know she’ll rock NYC (and BAM already got a job offer from KOHL’S!), but the Midwest will miss her.

1 more week of summer. Time to embrace it on the balcony!

~ by Elena Marie on August 12, 2011.

2 Responses to “Hola Suburbia.”

  1. I love Ravinia! A friend of ours used to work there, so I’ve been there a few times. I love the idea of picnicking while listening to a concert.

    I keep hearing great things about The Help. Maybe I’ll have to read the book and then see the movie once it comes out on DVD.

  2. I absolutely LOVE Ravinia. I hope you had fun on your first time.

Leave a Reply

 
