Second First Day: August 22nd, 2011

Event: First day back to work

Outfit: Lost Time skirt: Anthropologie; Shirt: JCrew Factory; Sandals: Target

It’s the second year that Adam has kindly gotten out of bed before his alarm to shoot a few shots of me on my first day “back to school”.* Frankly, after last year I knew I could probably get away with jeans and a tank during these first couple institute days…but that just would not feel like going back to work. I needed my outside to match the transition: time to get back in the early morning, sometimes challenging, workin’ hard for the moolah routine.

So I donned one of my favorite skirts, listened to The Wild Things by Dave Eggers on the hour drive, and met a co-worker for Starbucks before the work day even started. Definitely a good idea. I’ll admit I’ve become very accustomed to my many hours of freedom, but it’ll be good to get back into the swing of things and meet some new awesome kids. Let’s do this, 2011-2012 school year. The day rounded out nicely with a little TV time post-work, a workout with Adam, and chicken off the grill (courtesy of my guy) paired with a little more Community. Time to get on the reading-in-bed track and get some sleep!

P.S. Thank you so much for your kind words re: my wedding outfit this weekend and your words of luck on the new year! You make me all happy and blushy and stuff. 😉

 

*For those of you who don’t know, it’s my second year as speech-language pathologist. I work for a public school in an early childhood program. See the real first day here.

~ by Elena Marie on August 22, 2011.

7 Responses to “Second First Day: August 22nd, 2011”

  1. I really like this outfit! Especially the headband

  2. I love this color combination, the purple and olive look great! Happy second first day!! Can’t wait until I’m at the point where you are now, haha, I still have a ways to go though!

  3. Ha, ha … love this outfit & the picture of you drinking coffee! Too cute!

    Kelly @
    Elegantly Academic

  4. Excellent first day back outfit. I find if I dress up it helps me get my head in the game a lot quicker. Our first official day back is Monday, but I’ve been going in this week to get set-up. I hope your second year goes well and you have some awesome kids to work with.

  5. Love the color combination. 🙂

    First days are always easy to get ready for… second days, too. The third day back, on the other hand, is painful! I’m always so exhausted and stressed. 🙂 Hope you first week goes great!!

  6. I really love that skirt! It’s so pretty. Hope you have a great school year!

  7. that skirt is time-less! bahahah i love puns. love the color of that button down

Leave a Reply

 
