Friday’s Brights: August 26th, 2011

Event: Work

Outfit: Bright coral blouse & black pants: Banana Republic Outlet; Sandals: Target; Bangle: Street fair (Lela boutique)

 

 

Friday meant the first wear of two of my new “work” items: this blouse & a much nicer, better-fitting pair of black pants (yay for an upgrade)! While, yes, I generally try to buy items that can be worn both at home and at work…by the end of last year I felt like I was just having to morph my weekend-wear into work wear on a daily basis. Layer under/over dresses, cover up a lower neckline, see if sandals could work. My back-to-school goal was to have some items that, clearly, were actually purchased for my Monday-Friday life. Makes picking out an outfit a lot easier.

Outlet shopping was good to me—loved this blouse! the color, the ruffles, the shape (no need for a belt!). And the pants feel a whole lot nicer than my usual Gap pairs of dress pants. Three cheers for long-length (and 40% off!). Friday marked the end of “casual Fridays” for PreK staff members, as our meetings with parents and screenings are all on Fridays (I’ve always found it odd that we dress down for the one day we probably should actually look professional ha, so no complaints here). Thursdays will now be my denim day, which might be a nice break before the end of the week.

Anywho, lunch is coming to a close and I must devour a few more Teddy Grahams. Lots of weekend (outfit) updates coming up soon! My new Zara maxi skirt certainly earned its keep. Have a great start to the week.

~ by Elena Marie on August 29, 2011.

6 Responses to “Friday’s Brights: August 26th, 2011”

  1. You look great! Those pants have a great fit and the color and details of the blouse are very pretty! Hope your work week is off to a great start 🙂

  2. love the top!

    can’t wait to see more outfit pics!

    mindofmr.blogspot.com

  3. I love the color and the ruffle on that top. The pants look great too, I’m sure they’ll get a lot of wear during the school year. Hope your school year is off to a good start.

  4. A lot of my clothes can be put in an either/or category– work or home?? It does make it easier to get dressed and I never have to worry about whether or not it’s professional. If I need to be dressy, then I make sure I wear something that nice!

    We just found out that Fridays will be jeans days as long as we pay our $35 in hospitality dues. Guess who was the first one in line to pay? 😉

  5. Your pup is so cute and kind of hilarious! Love the bright pink of the blouse.

  6. I love this top on you! I love how you’ve made what can be a tough color combination (brights on blacks) look so chic and sophisticated!

Leave a Reply

 
