The Big Read: September 26th, 2011

Event: The Big Read’s kick-off event

Outfit: Silken Stitches Dress: Anthropologie; Suit jacket: JCPenney; Shoes: TOMS; Earrings: Fred Boutique; Book: To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee (purchased in Dublin, November 2010)

When I saw a flyer for a To Kill a Mockingbird kick-off event up at the Literacy Center, I was immediately hooked. LOVE the book, LOVE the idea of The Big Read. And…A free event? A chance to check out The Rep? A bar? Free food? The mayor will be in attendance? Actors will read from the play based on the book? Um, WIN of a monday night in my book. Adam agreed to geek it up with me and off we went.

Look at the pile o’ books. I was completely nerding out about how awesome it was to see so many in one place. The best? They were givin’ them away for free—-one per family! I restrained myself and didn’t take one home—-already had one in my clutch (muahahaha) for the occasion (…because I expected a pop quiz? Who knows), and they gave any leftovers to families who couldn’t afford them. I’ve never seen the mayor, Tom Barrett, speak before, so that was really exciting in of itself. Made me feel more like a true Milwaukeean (I spend so much time in IL still that I tend to feel pretty removed from WI politics). There are many book discussions being hosted around the MKE area, the play will begin in 2012, and the goal is to get every person possible to read the novel. Especially with MKE’s extreme racial tension, I can’t think of a better book. I’m hoping it might be possible to at least read sections of the book with my student at the Literacy Center!

On the outfit side of things, I had no idea what the dress code would be for a night like this, so I went a bit dressy and then topped it off with my favorite TOMS. Especially with Adam still in his nice work clothes, it fit the bill!

Any exciting events in your town lately? Any To Kill a Mockingbird memories? I can’t wait to re-read it!



~ by Elena Marie on September 29, 2011.

2 Responses to “The Big Read: September 26th, 2011”

  1. totally awesome! i’ve been looking for some motivation to start reading more (other than Harry Potter), and this sounds like a great way to do it. i only wish i live in MKE now!

  2. Hey lady! This is such an awesome outfit for a book reading — the dressiness topped off with the Toms seems to fit the bill for the night 🙂 Sounds like a great event! I intern with a book publishing department and we set up events like this, so it makes me really happy to see people who get excited over reading and classic literature too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
