Single Ladies: November 12th, 2011

Event: Tapas at La Tasca

Outfit: Blouse: NODRESSCODE by Tony Cohen (Spring/Summer ’08 collection; via Falcon—gift card; Jeans: Gap 1969 Real Straight (new); Blush heels: Steve Madden; Clutch: H&M; Bracelet: Lela sidewalk sale; Earrings: Fred Boutique

Saturday was originally going to be my bachelorette party (I finally had Anna tell me what it would’ve been; sounded pretty darn fun), so my sister’s flight into town was already booked. She landed Saturday morning, and my friend/ex-roomie/ex-bridesmaid Shelly came up from Champaign-Urbana. I’ve never really “gone out” for the evening around my hometown, but my mom suggested La Tasca in Arlington Heights, and it was an excellent idea.

Drank some red wine, ate some amazing tapas (I can’t get over how amazing the bacon wrapped dates and caramel flan were), talked talked talked, and later ate cookie dough. Yeah, I guess my appetite is back. Or at least when sweets and tapas and good friends are involved it is.

So, you’re witnessing the debut of my former-wedding-heels. Along with some added bling (of course), these were to be my special shoes. One bright side: I bought all wedding accessories with the idea of wearing it all for years afterward in mind…so all the purchased jewelry/shoes are very wearable. Still a pretty depressing silver lining right now (don’t see those wedding-day-associations ever vanishing), but oh well. I’ve wanted a pair of nude heels for a long time.

I just don’t feel like a single lady at all, but I guess that’s what I am.

~ by Elena Marie on November 13, 2011.

14 Responses to “Single Ladies: November 12th, 2011”

  1. You look smashing! And now I’m really hungry!!!

  2. The fact that you have a smile on your face and can see silver linings really says a lot about your character. 🙂 Are the Steve Madden heels comfortable?

    • Aww thanks, lady. 🙂 They were very comfortable for these few hours anyway—-will keep you updated. “Only” a 3 inch heel, so should be alright!

  3. Hey, I just caught up on the news 😦 I’m sorry to hear about that unexpected event, but you seem to be handling it as best you can. Sending you a big hug!

    and you look gorgeous here 🙂

  4. Damn, I should have hopped a plane with your sister!!! Keep hearing you talk about tapas, never had them, sounds yummy!! Glad your eating!!

    You look AWESOME!!

    PS – listen to WELCOME TO WHEREVER YOU ARE by Bon Jovi 🙂

  5. Love La Tasca! I grew up right around there and have been there many times. If you’re ever looking for another fun night out there is a new mexican restaurant in Arlington Heights called Mago that is absolutely delicious! Love the outfit as well 🙂

  6. You are beautiful inside & out
    To sum it up – you are one Classy Lady!!!

  7. dj

  8. You’re incredibly brave. Really.

    It looks like it was such a fun night…tapas, talking, AND cookie dough?! Yum and fun!

  9. Oh sweetheart, hold on to hose great friends/family and you’ll be just fine.
    I’ve contemplated dropping a line here for a couple of days now, but it never seemed too appropriate. Nevertheless, who am I to comment on you personal life and feelings. But your thoughts on regarding this post made my brain click and my fingers itch 🙂 Been there myself a couple of years ago. Almost – not that far with the wedding, plus I was the one who called it quits, but that’s not the point. It hurts like hell and don’t fool yourself into thinking that you’ll totally get past such a storm. It leaves scars, some of them deep, but that’s a good thing. It’s a reminder of how wise, strong and awesome you are, day in day out. And, even more importantly, it gives you perspective on who you are and who you want to be in your life and with other people. It might not be totally obvious now, but you’re already getting there.

    As for the outfit, party perfect. That smile is the best accessory and really suits you!
    I’m so happy you decided to hold on to the blog 🙂

  10. I’ve wracked my brain trying to think of something to say. The blog made my writing easier; everyone above has said it. You truly are a CLASS act. You are totally awesome and beautiful inside and out. Your heart, soul and smile are indeed your best accessories. Don’t change who you are. Life’s war wounds will remind you how great you are and where you are going.

  11. […] love this dress. It’s another repurposed item—-was originally purchased with my bridal shower in mind. But it’s already gotten me […]

  12. […] Shelly/Elena photo retrospective, support system, beach-tastic. Like this:LikeBe the first to like […]

Leave a Reply

 
