Layered: November 15th, 2011

Event: Work, apartment hunting, Multicultural Night at work

Outfit: Perthshire Dress: Anthropologie; Cardigan: JCrew Factory; Skinny cords: Gap Outlet; Necklace: The Limited; Boots: Diba

Even being a blogger, I certainly do draw some lines when it comes to broadcasting my life. I do think some things (for me) constitute an “over share” on the internet, especially if they’d mean hurting other people.

But I will just say that somehow this week seems more challenging than the last. I feel sadder. Somehow more confused. It’s very hard to wrap my head around everything that has transpired; how much I’ve lost. And, honestly? Picturing Thanksgiving next week makes me instantly nauseous. It’s one of my favorite holidays, but I spent it last year in Ireland, watching my best friend (who I thought was the love of my life) get down on one knee and propose a lifetime together. And I said yes. And that…oof. That is really hard to be positive about at the moment. I don’t think even a deep, abiding love for pumpkin pie can make that okay.

/End of sadness for now. Don’t worry; I fully intend to keep the “Silver Linings” posts a comin’.

~ by Elena Marie on November 15, 2011.

18 Responses to “Layered: November 15th, 2011”

  1. there is a big difference between honesty and oversharing…and you’re just being honest. elena, i wish i could give you a big hug!!! you need lots of pumpkin pie and wine! πŸ™‚

    xo

  2. *Hugs*

  3. I just made a pan of brownies. Wish you could come over and just eat it with me and watch movies. hugs!

    • Aww yay for brownies, movies, and hugs. Thanks, lady. Hey, maybe someday. We are both Chicagoland ladies now πŸ™‚

  4. Even though I don’t know you IRL my heart is breaking for you. I’m so sorry this happened/is happening. I’m divorced and I know that kind of pain. I hated when people told me this when I was going through the initial shock/sadness/pain, but it’s true that it does get better. Not a smooth climb up to better, but an up and down ride that eventually plateaus at normality and happiness.
    Hang in there and share all you need to. πŸ™‚

  5. *hug*

  6. Get on a plane and get your butt over here!! (just throwing out the option, you know you are always welcome) – I have several days off and custody of little “A” for turkey day!! This is seriously an option!!

  7. We all have to mourn the end of important relationships. It is okay to be honest and say, “this is tough.” The good news is you are still looking for the silver lining in life. Hugs.

  8. I never comment, but I do come here pretty regularly and I just wanted to say–everything will be okay. You may not see the reason now but there is meaning to everything that happens to us. You are strong and you will get through this difficult period and become a better person for it. Keep your head up πŸ™‚

  9. I’ve been going through the same thing this year. It’s a long road and I hope it gets easier for you soon. You’re in my thoughts. πŸ™‚

  10. Ooof, tough indeed. It will take a while to get used to a new routine and a new ‘normal’. You’ve been through a big ordeal – it’s going to take time! Like others have said, the fact that you’re seeing silver linings is proof of your inner strength πŸ™‚ Sending a hug!

    PS This is my favourite outfit of yours!

  11. I cried, cried and cried for you & the loss. I even wished I could take this pain away from you but as Bianca has stated so wonderfully -“you may not see the reason now but there is a meaning to everything that happens to us” and as Carolyn Myss (a phenominal teacher) stated (we) may never know and truthfully we don’t need to know the why’s. It’s faith that was intended for our journey here in life and every great teacher, healer, author and person evolved thru their experiences. I was once given an affirmation of the “I am – the divinity within” whatever you want to be. I am healing, I am love, I am joy.
    As Leona stated ” The good news is you are still looking for the silver lining in life” – and you are expressing yourself allowing the healing process to begin.
    btw – I loved last Wedn outfit the best even though I voted for Sat bc of your smile – sooooooo Elena! You’re in my prayers/thoughts.

  12. Sending much love !

  13. I’ve been thinking of you lots. I haven’t really known what to say that wasn’t utterly trite and banal, but you are strong and smart and beautiful and resilient. You will come through this, but take as much time as you need to be sad. Hugs.

  14. So, I’m new here. Literally just popped on to your blog today (thanks to Epic Battle’s blogroll). And my jaw dropped to see you handling such an insanely enormous life change with humor and grace and honesty.

    I like you already, and it’s pretty obvious that other people do, too. I won’t offer you trite words, and I will not use any words to describe the upcoming holiday. I will, however, tell you that your layers are rocking today, and that I’m insanely jealous of your bias plaid skirt. And, that the world is a truly funny place, and that its wicked sense of humor is what keeps us going. Chin up, chickadee. You look wonderful.

Leave a Reply

 
