Furnished: November 19th, 2011

Event: Furniture shopping and assembling

Outfit: Striped tee/jeans: Gap; Necklace: Handed down from aunt; Hat/Purse: H&M; Boots: Diba

What a long (and productive!) day. My mom and I took IKEA by storm and my bank account bid adieu to a large chunk o’ change. But, hey, $2.99 Swedish meatballs were mixed in there, too. Delicious. My mom treated and later declared it my half-birthday lunch. 😉 25.5, folks. Feels crazy that this was my life a mere 6 months ago. CUE MORE CONFUSION.

Anyway. We left with a kitchen table/chairs, coffee table, lounge chair/footstool, dresser, table lamp. After picking up my dad we headed to my new place and assembled almost all of it. I actually—somewhat shockingly— came out as the furniture-assembling champ. I guess last year’s assembling marathon prepared me. We were successful enough that pizza was consumed on a new table/chairs. Score.

On the outfit front, this look felt perfect for a long &  admittedly emotionally charged day. I felt pulled together but also pretty fun(ky). I keep thinking about hacking loads of hair off, but I did love that its crazy length made for very easy braided pigtails today. Fun stuff.

Time to get some sleep. Must begin the process of moving out of MKE tomorrow morning. This task also involves a reunion with my favorite dog in the world (Silver linings, people. Silver linings).

Outtakes from some jumping-shot attempts, sitting in one of the fruits of our IKEA labor.

~ by Elena Marie on November 20, 2011.

6 Responses to “Furnished: November 19th, 2011”

  1. You look absolutely adorable m’dear. This confusion is oh so awful but very typical…went through many rounds myself. The good news (silver lining?) is that it too shall pass. Sending lots of love for tomorrow.

  2. You look lovely! Living alone in my own place was probably one of the favourite times of my life. What can I say? I’m not a good sharer 🙂 And you totally need your own dog!!!

  3. I love this look! The hat and the beads are amazing. I love assembling IKEA furniture, it makes me feel like I built something. Good luck with everything move related. I’m sure it will be difficult, but think of how amazing it will be when it’s all over and you’re settled in your new place sipping wine out of that awesome chair that you built.

  4. LOVING the beads and stripes, and the addition of the slouchy hat is proof of how much an accessory can change a look for the better.

    Note: you can buy those delicious meatballs and keep them in your freezer! With lingonberrries, too…

  5. fun look! so excited for you and your new place cant wait to hear more about it

  6. […] Yep, this outfit is pretty much IKEA’s work appropriate twin. […]

Leave a Reply

 
