Pencil Me In: December 15th, 2011

Event: Work, cookie bakin’

Outfit: Striped sweater & wool pencil skirt: JCrew Factory; Boots: DSW; Necklace: stella & dot; Belt: from a dress

Yesterday was my day o’ salon-ing and shopping. I had a $200 anniversary-gift-card to blow at a MKE salon, so decided it was time to take a personal day and take advantage. I’m so glad this idea randomly popped in my head last week. Stopped at the JCrew outlet on the way up (I want more of these sweaters—-50% off + 15% teacher discount meant $22!) and then squeezed in some lunch and Christmas shopping before three hours at the salon.

I’m not much of one for the traditional pampering (the idea of a massage just sounds anxiety-inducing and unpleasant; I’ve had one manicure, also courtesy of a gift certificate, and never repeated the experience), but I was so badly in need of a cut and color. I’ve been growing my hair out for this wedding for a lonnnnng time, so it was time to part with some length. I’ve liked being able to do some fun, different updos…but, let’s face it, I was rarely spending a lot of time on my hair at that crazy length. I have zero patience or talent for it. So I had 5.5″ inches hacked off and requested a darker, reddish color. Had a very nice salon experience (ah, I just love free coffee & magazines), and even had a free manicure thrown into the package! They knew I was originally getting married this month, so there was some slight awkwardness, but my stylist was completely professional about it and moved right along.

Also got dinner with Maria & Kristy before heading back to IL, which somehow turned into a 3.5 hour gabfest. Love it. Pretty much a  total win of a Wednesday.

And now my sister’s back from NY and catching up on Once Upon a Time on my couch, so must move along. Hope you’re having a great end to the week!

P.S. This is the kind of outfit that reminds me my style has changed. Now I practically think of a coral-colored skirt as a “neutral”. Why wouldn’t it go with a peacock-striped sweater?! 😉

Dressing room yesterday: See? I try on an outfit and then I must buy it.

~ by Elena Marie on December 15, 2011.

5 Responses to “Pencil Me In: December 15th, 2011”

  1. LOVE IT! I can’t wait to see you tomorrow!!

  2. Cute skirt!

  3. Love the new outfit and the new hair! The reddish color is so pretty:)

  4. Beautiful skirt! I love pencils!

  5. Love the color and cut!! The skirt rocks!!

Leave a Reply

 
