In 2012…

I will:

-Find the perfect red lipstick, and wear it regularly.

-Keep runnin’. Sign up for at least two 5Ks.

-Read 50 books. Made it to 37 this year, and I imagine ’12 may hold a lot more time to crack open the nook.

-Pay my parents back the wedding $$ I owe (–> return to being debt-free).

-Travel. NYC in March (definitely), Europe over the summer (?)

-Volunteer at the local animal shelter…and maybe get a canine companion of my own.

-Eat less ice cream and make more home-cooked, veggie-centered meals.

-Learn way more about my savings/retirement plans (appt. already made at the bank!).

-Budget. Keep spending less on coffee/lunches out (…so I can spend more on travel, weekends with friends…and maybe clothes).

-Visit Milwaukee & Chicago regularly, to see friends and get myself out of my suburban apartment.

-Stress less. Be excited and spontaneous more.

-Clean at least a little bit everyday to avoid an overwhelming mess of an apartment. Value my little corner of the world.

-Ensure I’m happy with my job (and realize some things are beyond my control).

-Not let bitterness take over. Forgive. I’ve always prided myself in believing in the good in people, believing in love and complete trust. In partnership. & That, someday, it’ll find me again. And that I’m worthy of it.

Ready to ring in the new year.

~ by Elena Marie on December 31, 2011.

10 Responses to “In 2012…”

  1. Love this list! Big virtual bear hug from my couch. Happy and safe NYE!

  2. Those are good resolutions. The most challenging will probably be the red lipstick, I’ve been working on that for years.

  3. Let’s get the running team back together again! I’ll help with the 5ks…and the volunteering…and the Chicago visits! Anytime!

  4. I can’t wait to see what you read this year! I’ve already started my first book πŸ™‚ Traveling is also on my list and so is running!!

  5. That photo is stellar!

    I like all of these goals except for the eating less ice cream. I just can’t get behind that. I have my fingers crossed that I will get to travel to both Europe and NYC this summer for work, but we’ll see….

  6. YEAH! sounds like a stellar plan. lovin the pic cant wait to see more of that sparkly dress!

  7. Please add: and continue to impure others!!

    I never made a book list before, and you have inspired me to do so (probably not going to hit 50 but we’ll start with a realistic 10)

    You are an inspiration in many ways, I only listed a tiny tiny one.

    Continue to inspire the work via blogging, irl and take 2012 by Storm!!!!!

  8. I love this post. LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE!

  9. […] took a gander at the hopes I had for 2012. Not bad, self. Admittedly, I think I had some pretty attainable visions, but I’m good with […]

Leave a Reply

 
