2011 Reads: Favorites.

You can see all the books I read in 2011 here. Below are the reads that stand out most in my mind as I scan the list—-might not be because they were the most well-written or deepest. Sometimes a book just gets read at the perfect time in your life; sometimes it sticks with you because of who you discussed it with. In any case, these were the standouts for me last year.

1. Milennium Trilogy by Stieg Larsson

Violent and hard to read at times? Absolutely. But they certainly held my interest. My two SLP officemates convinced me to read Girl With the Dragon Tattoo, and then I just couldn’t stop. Adam and I read them around the same time on our 2 nooks, and then watched all three Swedish films together. Got to discuss it at work and with, well, pretty much anyone who reads. Memorable novels.

2. Room by Emma Donaghue

I typically dodge giving plot summaries, because I think they can ruin the book. For this book, that would absolutely be the case. I’ll just say that whole book is narrated from the perspective of a 5-year-old in a very unique situation. Quick, fascinating read.

3. Divergent by Veronica Roth

This was another co-worker recommendation after we all enjoyed The Hunger Games. Reminded me a lot of The Giver, but takes place in a futuristic Chicago. Written by a Northwestern grad who is younger than me, & I found it to be awesome. And, yes, this is why I would never write book reviews. I don’t like to read book reviews myself (until I’ve read the book), and live in fear of spoiling things. So…it’s just “awesome.”

4. Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? (And Other Concerns) by Mindy Kaling

During December I read quite a few comedic, female-penned memoirs, starting with Mindy Kaling’s. I promise, I don’t only read/love books that I’d describe as “easy reading”,¬† but this is another one I could give that descriptor. Loved her writing style, very much related to a lot of her anecdotes and references. Hey, Voldemort & Nagini are used to make a relationship parallel. Have to support that.

5. Sisterhood Everlasting by Ann Brashares

This makes the list because of how hard this book hit me. I sobbed hysterically through, um, a lot of it, and required frequent “hug breaks”. The “Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants” books have been a part of my life for so long, so reading the conclusion felt pretty momentous. If you loved the previous books long ago or now, this one is for you. Read with caution.

~ by Elena Marie on January 10, 2012.

2 Responses to “2011 Reads: Favorites.”

  1. I totally agree on the first two. I haven’t read the other three, but I’m adding them to my GoodReads list right now.

  2. The first two on your list are totally fantastic! I’m definitely going to have to check out the last Sisterhood book, they were my favorites in high school. I cried through all of them!

Leave a Reply

 
