Outfit Poll: January 10th-15th, 2012

Sequins won in last week’s poll—my NYE outfit came in 1st place (45% of the vote), with my new sequined-top ensemble in 2nd place. Thank you so much for your feedback! I have to concur—wound up loving that dress. When I first bought it I worried the silhouette wasn’t flattering/the pockets added extra bulk…but on NYE it fit the bill and my doubts just shut up and gave into the power of copper sequins.

This week I wore the same skirt and vest in a couple of different ways and debuted a couple new pairs of shoes. Have definitely been sticking to my budget (especially as I’ve started paying my parents back for the lost wedding $$), but was soooo grateful that Tuesday night’s shopping trip fit within it. Needed the pick-me-up that can come with feeling good in new clothing. Don’t get me wrong, I’ve always dressed “for myself”, but I’ve certainly also spent the past four years dressing for my partner. Which I mean in a positive way—I think it’s very important to put in effort in a relationship; I’ve never understood people who were “taken” or married and expressed relief that they “no longer need to try.” On the contrary, I loved having someone to dress up for. Someone upon whom I hoped my appearance and person would reflect positively. Now that this is a non-issue, it’s interesting thinking about new clothing. What I want just for me, what I’d want to wear when I have to force myself to date again, etc. Makes me study my wardrobe in a new way, much as I have during other big transitions (graduating, entering the medical/school settings, etc).

Anyway–bottom line: yay for new clothes. And thank you for being one of the things that holds me accountable and doesn’t let me turn into a sweatpants wearing mess. Yes, I do it for myself/work/friends, but it’s also nice knowing that you’re out there, awesome readers! Much appreciated. I’ll admit that I think my self-esteem, perhaps especially on a superficial level, took a hit in the recent months. Illogical as it may or may not be, I think it’s hard not to let thoughts of “if I had only been prettier/thinner/smarter/kinder” etc sneak in. So thank you for all of your comments, re: outfits or otherwise. You rock.

I’d love to hear which look was your favorite from January 10th-15th. As always, your vote is anonymous and any additional comments are very welcome!

Thanks in advance for your feedback. :)

~ by Elena Marie on January 16, 2012.

3 Responses to “Outfit Poll: January 10th-15th, 2012”

  1. Love your looks this week Elena! The striped top/vest combo is so cute, love the Perthsire dress and you look gorgeous in the sequin top look! I understand what you mean by dressing for someone. Just know you have always been and will always be gorgeous lady!

  2. I voted for Thursday, but really I think it is a tie between Wednesday and Thursday!

  3. […] Last week’s winner was Sunday, with 30% of the vote. It was my favorite look, too! Thank you for your feedback. […]

Leave a Reply

 
