Re-Worked: January 17th, 2012

Event: Work

Outfit: Sequin top: T.J. Maxx; Suit jacket: JCPenney; Grey pants: The Limited; Boots: Diba; Necklace: stella & dot; Headband: Anthropologie

Once I wear a new item for weekend it’s time to figure out if it can make it into the Monday-Friday rotation. I GIVE THEE A PASSING GRADE, SEQUIN TOP. Just the weekend look + jacket would be alright by me as well.

Pretty standard workday. If you follow me on instagram you know I’ve been eating a lot of avocado-toast lately…the trend continued today. Hey, when avocados go on sale you have to grab those babies and get slicin’.

So. I guess avocados have been the highlights of my day thus far. I’ve been continuing my insomnia/exhaustion cycle, though last night it was for a good cause: finishing MWF Seeking BFF by Rachel Bertsche. I loved it. Perhaps will go on about it at length another day, but—-especially if you’ve ever moved to a new town for your man or work and realized how much you missed your best girlfriends (…and then realized how tricky it can be to make new best friends post-college)—you should read this one. It’s nonfiction, and I don’t think I’ve ever related to an author so much. Being set in Chicago just makes it more awesome (loved reading about places I’ve had brunch, neighborhoods my friends live in, etc).

Now I have to decide what to read next…and if I’m going to let this be an “off” day from the gym (It’s cold and I worked out the past 4 days. Justifiable?). Have a great Tuesday night.


~ by Elena Marie on January 17, 2012.

8 Responses to “Re-Worked: January 17th, 2012”

  1. I love how you made the sequin top a work top! If you didn’t have the pictures side by side I wouldn’t have known it was the same shirt. I’m so bad at multi-tasking items in my closet.

    I am also a big fan of avocado toast . . . and avocado in general.

  2. I just bought my second sequin top and can’t wait to wear it. I absolutely love your blazer version! And that toast looks pretty freakin’ awesome…num num num.

  3. Love how you wore the top to work! 🙂

  4. I love avocado on toast. I generally put jam on it as well. It’s great with coffee in the morning. I totally got that from the Stieg Larsson novels!

  5. love the sparkle for weekend AND work- knew you could make it work

  6. Love how you styled the sparkles for work! Since I don’t have avocados in the house, but I do have guacamole, I tried the guac on toast last night and I loved it.!!

  7. I bought a sequin top last summer at a garage sale and have been trying to figure out how to wear it. Under a blazer is perfect for easing into the style, I thinks. There, but easy to swallow. Trying this tomorrow – wish me luck!

  8. hey lady, next time you’re in the city we should get cupcakes. i’m in the market for chicago friends! 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
